William Blackswan - Horrors

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hi there!
First of two covers I made for Finnish metal band William Blackswan, will post the second one next. :D They're both rather raunchy and they expected certain amount of "sex and gore" in them. Both times they send me hand drawn sketches and I went from there.

This was both the first time I ever used Daz in an artwork and also it was my first ever professional job, back in 2016.





I also designed the whole digipack inside and outside, which can be seen down below.
This was a challenge but gladly in my youth I'd been doing this sort of thing with pirate CDs for fun ( ;) ) so it wasn't totally new. Also in these cases as long as you can get your hands on the manufacturer's template things are not that complicated.

I don't know that the inside is the best design ever but I still like the close up black swan wings as background for the lyrics.


wbFRONT.jpg

wbBACK.jpg




For the back of the digipack (the right side of the main artwork) I used part of another quicker illustration I made for the actual CD label. Kinda like this one on its own too. :D


instagramcdlabel.jpg

wbCD.jpg




Being a complete noob at Daz, the model is a bit stiff, but I still wanted to have the exact pose needed instead of spending many hours looking for a perfect photo. So I just screenshot the Daz model with different light setups (my computer at the time couldn't handle rendering). Over the base render I overlaid stock photos of nude models, and on top of that I added the lighting layers from other Daz renders.


blackswananimation.gif




If you enjoy my art, you can also find me in other sites:

Instagram
YouTube
ArtStation
DeviantArt
Behance
Facebook
Twitter
Makersplace
Prints and more

Sort:  

Wow! That's stunning. One of the reasons i used to bought CD's of my favorites singers or bands was for the designing and not because i liked the band XD . They're little pieces of art with the music bonus.

Wtfff this is so amazing!! i LOVE IT, PERFECT

 4 years ago  

Nice work ! Looks like an album cover

Posted using Dapplr

Really awesome work. Very detailed and atmospheric!