Art Attack #123: A Lucky Bean in Heaven with Lovely Ladies 😍 [Part 2]

in OnChainArt2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you weren't aware, I've been streaming on Twitch for quite some time now and it's been fun trying out different games and making new friends! And I was fortunate to become a Twitch Affiliate only a month after I started streaming! And one perk of being an Affiliate is you get create custom rewards for your chat to redeem with their channel points! Since I'm an artist I thought I'd reward my loyal viewers with some free artwork!

image.png

If you missed my previous post, this is a continuation from the artwork I started sharing last week so check that out to get more context on this piece, because there's quite a story.
But basically it's a redeem from one of my loyal viewers, Bean, who wanted me to draw him with two waifus from Genshin Impact (since that's the main game I play on my streams). The characters he chose are called Raiden Shogun and Lisa, and they have electro powers and look like this:

image.png

image.png

Source: Genshin Impact Fandom

I don't have much experience drawing humans let alone ladies with big boobs but I tried my best to make them cute with a chibi style but of course leave in the bust size and this was where we left off on the previous post:

image.png

So after cleaning up the sketch lines and removing any overlapping outlines I realised I was also missing a lot of details from Lisa's outfit so I had to make quite a few corrections unfortunately. But eventually we get this clean lineart.

image.png

It actually took so long just to get to this point just because of how detailed their outfits are in Genshin. And while I appreciated the effort the artists went to in the game, trying to draw them myself is always a huge pain especially when I try my best to include as many details to make them accurate.

I had so many references for this piece it was insane. You can probably tell these characters are so popular with the genshin fanbase because of their unique "assets".

image.png

Anyway, once I was adequately satisfied with the outlines and felt like I tried my best including every detail, it was time to colour! This was probably the more fun and dare I say relaxing part of this piece? Because the sketch and outlines were hell for me that's for sure.

I definitely enjoyed colouring though! It just seems like every time I get to colouring a piece it feels like I'm making a ton of progress and seeing the whole thing come together a lot quicker.

image.png

And after adding shadows and highlights, we get this!

image.png

I definitely ran out of layers too many times to count just because of how cautious I am of combining layers especially with outlines and different colours. But when I got to this point I was so relieved because the end was finally near! At this point I had spent so many hours on this piece I was quickly getting sick of it and just wanted it to be done. But I still wanted to do a good job of course.

All that was left was the background! I was actually working on this on-stream and asked my chat what the background should be like when I got done with the colours and shadows and we all agreed it should be something epic. And I had the idea to make it "heavenly" in a way, since it sure looks like Bean is in heaven over there.. So what better background than you know, actual heaven? Or a rendition of heaven - something like this?

image.png

Source: iStock

And of course we had to put a spotlight on Bean since he's the one being "blessed" in a way with the sunshine coming through the clouds and shining on Bean. We thought it was hilarious and that it would be the perfect backdrop with him sandwiched in between those valleys. 😅 This was also the perfect time for me to use my cloud brush and the light pastel colours would contrast with the deep purple shades on their outfits.

image.png

Here's the stream where I did the colouring and when we decided on the background. Apologies but I draw pretty slow and spent about 3.5 hours colouring.

And finally, here's the full timelapse! The fact that the timelapse itself is almost 10 minutes long tells you how long this whole piece took. It was definitely the longest I ever spent on an art redeem that's for sure. I think it took more than a month of art streams and many hours on my off days to complete this but it was such a relief when I did!

And I was very pleased with the result; I think those hours paid off! Bean loved it so much too and felt very indebted to me because he knew how long this took so he gifted me a Discord nitro subscription for a month since I was having trouble sending it to him in the first place. 😅 I insisted that he didn't have to but he did it anyway. At that point he had donated quite a lot of money to me as well so I was more than happy to work on this for him and am just so glad that he loved it! I actually like it a lot too despite it looking a little sussy I think I managed to make it look kinda cute and classy too.

But anyway, this has gone on long enough so hope you enjoyed this piece and see you next week for more!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!


Art Attack #122: A Bean between two Shocking Valleys? 🤔 [Part 1]

Sort:  

I liked your character design but did not like your concept but you have your own choice.

um thanks? if you're talking about the idea behind it it was from a viewer so I didn't really have a choice. but thanks for reading!