Art Attack #136: Kokomi the pretty Fish Lady 🐟

in OnChainArtlast year

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So I came across this template on Facebook when someone posted this in one of the fangroups I follow, and it gave me an idea for a new art redeem I could do on my Twitch channel!

image.png

I decided to make a channel redemption where viewers could use their channel points to get me to sketch a character from their favourite series! So I would do a quick sketch on stream, and then polish it up after the stream on my own time. This was back when NFTs were still a thing and I was thinking of venturing into it, but needed a series of characters so I thought this was a good starting point.

image.png

Of course this costs quite a lot of points since it interrupts the stream and I have to setup my iPad and sketch. My mod, Nightsy was the first person to redeem this and he requested that I draw Kokomi from Genshin Impact! She was a new character that got released at the time and this is what she looks like in-game:

image.png

Source: Genshin Impact Fandom

And this was what I sketched in about 5 minutes or so on stream. I couldn't do a full piece since I didn't want to take up too much time on stream, so we settled with this for now.

image.png

But after the stream I took some time to think about it and decided to go in a different direction and try to make it look better. Compared to some other NFTs that were popular at the time I wanted each piece to be more unique. So I thought of giving each character a different pose, facial expression and a unique background that would suit their character.

So this was the sketch I came up with! Since Kokomi is a water lady who spawns jellyfish and her shrine looks like an underwater palace, I thought a shell would be a nice simple background for her.

image.png

I could already tell her outfit was going to be such a pain since there were so many different components and colours just on her sleeves! I was really dreading it but I tried my best to make sense of it the best I could. Once I got the sketch done, it was already half the battle at least.

image.png

For this I didn't want too many outlines since I wanted her outfit to look flowy and pretty like her. So I just went with some simple outlines and filled most of the outfit with colour. Just colouring this much took a whole lot of time and effort, but I did my best and tried to make her look as accurate as possible while also being kinda simplistic so it would match the template.

image.png

After that it was a lot easier. I drew and coloured her hydro vision, her choker and hair before adding in the water effects. I think this was the first time I was using the water brush on Procreate and it turned out pretty great! Took some time fiddling with the perspective on the water ring but I was really proud with how good the fish looked!

image.png

After that I drew in and coloured the shell background, consulting a free vector I found online. And I also added some bubbles which I learned how to draw thanks to a youtube tutorial! For the background colour I was going to do a nice gradient but it blended in with the shell too much so I went with a dark ocean blue instead so she would stand out.

image.png

Overall, I really liked how this came out and thought this was pretty perfect! It definitely took quite a bit of time but it got me to try a new style and new brushes so I'm glad. I think maybe she could've used a bit more obvious shadows but all in all I'd say that's pretty good. She's recognisable, and I think the background really suits her.

Here's the timelapse:

A good first edition to a brand new series! Thanks so much for reading and stay tuned for more!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #135: Buff Samus with Cake! 💪🎂

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.