Art Attack! #28: A Lovely Lift Off! 🎈

in OnChainArt4 years ago

0.jpg

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my paintings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

image.png

What a happy coincidence that I wrote about our Valentines' Day dinner just yesterday on my foodie series, because today I'm sharing the process behind my Valentines' Day present/art piece I did for Sean!

Truthfully I was initially quite stumped on what to get for Sean and when I decided that he actually didn't really need anything atm I wanted to draw him something but I had no ideas. Until... 3 days before Valentines' Day, I saw this cute LINE Friends wallpaper!

image.png

I think I came across it on Instagram when Uniqlo was advertising the new LINE couple shirts they just launched. There were a few other wallpapers too but I really liked this one so I decided to paint something based on it.

Both of us really liked Sally but I thought I'd change Brown and Cony into characters of us and this was what I came up with:

1.jpg

I was inspired by HJ-Story to create these cute character versions of us! I come across his pictures on facebook and stuff from time to time and they're always so cute and wholesome. I always wished I could draw like him.

image.png

This is pretty much Sean every time I show him my art. 😅

But I think I did pretty okay. And they do somewhat look like us which was good.

2.jpg

I kept it simple because I didn't have much time since I only had 3 days and I could only work on this when Sean was at work (this was back before quarantine).

So I kept the hearts the same colour as the picture and for our shirts, I went with an ombre blue and orange like I did for our wedding portrait!

3.jpg

For the background, I didn't want just a solid colour like the wallpaper, so I thought of painting a simple night scene with black, blue and purple.

4.jpg

I thought it was a good idea until I actually started painting, because unfortunately it wasn't blending in as well as I had hoped. But I tried my best and eventually the purple was just too striking so I decided to cover the parts that wouldn't blend with a mountain, so it would look like the balloons lifted off from the peak.

After outlining once more, this was the result:

0.jpg

I think overall it looked pretty good, considering it was pretty much my first time working with such dark colours. And I think the white border really gave it an artistic look.

The good thing was that Sean really liked it! He said the border made the piece looked spray paint-esque; I'm not entirely sure what that means but I'm so glad he liked it!

5.jpg

Btw that room is a rental I didn't put those Hello Kitty stickers.

I really liked how this piece turned out, especially the characters I did for us! I'll definitely draw these characters again for sure!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #27: Kitties frolicking in the Spring! 😸