Art Attack! #56: Minimalist Kanagawa Wave 🌊

in OnChainArt3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

Ever since I started digital art, I've been practising it a lot; especially familiarising myself with the interface and tools in Clip Studio Paint. So it'd been a while since I'd done a physical art piece and I'd been missing it quite a bit. I didn't want to slack off on my physical art techniques either so I decided to try doing another minimalist art piece!

Japan is one of my favourite travel destinations and I'm sure everyone knows of the famous print by Hokusai - The Great Wave off Kanagawa! I tried painting a version of that a long time ago in a ramen bowl but unfortunately it didn't turn out so well and I wasn't really that happy with it.

image.png

So I thought this would be a good opportunity for me to redeem myself with this piece and try it out in my minimalist style instead! The colour would definitely be too difficult for me to emulate that's for sure.

And since Japan's flag is white with a red circle in the middle, it only made sense that I draw it inside a circle, which also suits my minimalist style as well. This was a previous piece I did:

image.png

Anyway, I wanted to keep it black and white but try to be more accurate this time so I went about searching for some vectors to reference. These are some I found:

image.png

Source: pinterest

image.png

Source: HiClipart

image.png

Source: pinterest

I think you can tell where I'm going with this. I didn't want to just draw the wave and Mt Fuji, and I also wanted to include the akatsuki clouds from the previous piece, along with the signature red sun.

So this was my first draft, before I realise I need a lot of help, and went about searching for vectors to reference.

image.png

I realise the wave itself has so many details that it's hard to even know where to start, but I just went about with the initial outline and filled in the details later. Eventually, I got this!

image.png

I decided to leave out the details in the foreground wave and opted to do the simpler Japanese wave instead, kinda like this:

image.png

Source: WallpaperAccess

But I realise this pattern only works if they're drawn smaller, and it kinda looks like the wifi signal a little bit, so I decided to make it bigger. After outlining, I got this:

image.png

And finally, after a couple more details, this is the final piece!

image.png

Unfortunately I kinda smudged the sun rays a little bit, but I think other than a few smudges here and there I actually really love this piece! I thought I managed to capture the essence of the original Kanagawa Wave print pretty well, and I think I got the details down too.

I really like this (mostly) black-and-white version as well! Doubtful that I'll attempt a colour version since it's pretty difficult and I don't want my version to look too similar to the original since it's been done to death.

Really liking this one though, and I hope you do too! Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #55: Reunited on the Milky Way 🌌

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

oh wow thanks so much for curating @ashikstd! really appreciate it! ^-^

This looks really cute ^^ I like the ramen one, it has a very cute concept.

I personally think tracking your progress is good :) It's motivating and at the same time it reminds you of where you've started ♥

aw thank you so much @kothy!! yes the ramen one was a gift for my sis-in-law because she loves ramen and shibas haha.
It definitely helps to pen the process down just to see where your thought process was that's for sure!
Thanks so much for reading!

That's a very thoughtful gift! ^^

Very interesting your process, for the awareness of its elements, and the result you reach with your personal version-homage to the reference work. Thank you and best regards, @taco.cat.

Tu post ha sido votado por @CELFmagazine, una iniciativa autónoma en favor del contenido de calidad sobre arte y cultura. Apóyanos con tu voto aquí para mantener y mejorar nuestra labor. Nuestra comunidad es #hive-111516

Your post has been upvoted by @Celfmagazine, an autonomous initiative in favour of quality content on art and culture. Support us with your vote here to maintain and improve our work. Our community is #hive-111516

CELFmagazine