MASKS - a preliminary sketch

in OnChainArt4 years ago

“The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can't be any large-scale revolution until there's a personal revolution, on an individual level. It's got to happen inside first.”
Jim MORRISON

These days, masks are a requirement just about everywhere in just about every situation. But forget about Covid-2019. I am talking about traditional masks.
Digging into my stacks, finding stuff I forgot about. This is one example which I published on DeviantArt in 2008 under "Scraps". The images were inspired by my exposure to Pacific Northwest Native Art.

masks_by_artofthemystic_d1p83aw.jpg
Note on DeviantArt:
... more sketching, but I won't use it on the Peckerwood Project. Maybe the germ for something else .......

a quick sketch which was never used in any drawing or painting.
unsigned, not dated, but likely done in 2008 - unknown size, but by the crease marks it may have been a larger sheet, folded - it is one of two scraps in preparation for the drawing "General Peckerwood in Purgatory", but not used in that drawing. No idea where it is, or when I scanned it. Below is the sketch for Peckerwood, probably done around the same time.

general_peckerwood_by_artofthemystic_d1p821n preliminary sketchweb1000.jpg
Sketch for General Peckerwood
GENERAL PECKERWOOD IN PURGATORY.jpg
General Peckerwood in Purgatory


Here is a exchange of comments between artist Bernard Dumaine and myself on DeviantArt:

Bernardumaine
Nov 6, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist
Nice, I like the nervous style

ArtOfTheMystic
Nov 11, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist

nervous style? It's old age, my friend. Of course Prof. Anderson of yore at the Vienna Academy championed the "Zitterstrich", but once upon a time I actually had a steady hand, lol ...... I had to grasp the pencil at the very end and listen to rock-and-roll with a full bladder in order to comply with the required 'looseness' demanded by my teacher who followed Nicolaides very closely .....

Bernardumaine
Nov 11, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist
However, it's a nice sketch


I hope this gives you a little bit of an insight into my way of working, since I have few "progress" shots I can share. No so called "tutorials", because when I am busy creating, I create, I don't think of showing off.



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

POPEYE CRADLE.gif


If you find this useful, please repost!

MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

Sort:  

Wow, that drawing is amazing

this is so wild Otto. Fantastic drawings!