🎨 MINING THE SUBCONSCIOUS

in OnChainArt • 4 years ago

Buried deep down in my Facebook stack from years ago, this image popped up the other day again. I know it is stored somewhere in my studio, but I forgot about it. A relatively small canvas, it was probably something to test process and color combinations. Sort of abstract-surreal. Looking for it in my computer albums I could at first not even find it, since initially I called it Untitled 2009, but then changed the title. It was scanned, not photographed, and the original scan was at 600px.

MiningTheSubconscious  WEB2000.jpg
acrylic on canvas - 2009 - 23 x 30.5 cm
large image on Flickr

not listed on my website

The bottom half of this was done in a decalcomania style, rather simple, pressing a crumpled newspaper into the thin wet paint.

It must have been at the time I posted it on Facebook some years ago that I also put it through the wringer on DEEP DREAM, just with the regular Neuro-style - the result after only one level looks like this:

DEEP DREAM Mining the Subconscious  8a203cdd32b4c8b01902c0f87754aed777108d6d 1WEB2000.jpg

over 2 years ago I posted some other projects I've done in Deep Dream: DEEP DREAM - GIF Generator and Deep Dream Video

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9U4cHUSZgwLSuVjuejc4CfBjvJrCgqZ6wjNbUMphK62vJQAXmCDNV1tYzVrkwAiWsc6rxVDf3irBcr6S6KcVLpMLtJA thumb 350.jpg
myself - in Hawaii 1995 - the witch doctors got me, lol

to see these images of MINING THE SUBCONSCIOUS side-by-side:

MiningTheSubconscious  combo w Deep Dream.jpg



Visit my website
â–¼



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
Pixels Shop Banner Ad.JPG




If you find this useful, please repost!

MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

Sort:  

Whoa! Pretty trippy. Looks like some DMT elves. Hehe

 4 years ago  

all just happened by cleaning my brushes on a piece of canvas, lol

I love that in both @thermoplastic you can so distinctly see the canvas pattern/fabric. Amazing colours. It's always fun to find older work and wonder what was in our minds at the time.

 4 years ago  

thanks - about what's in my mind: I sometimes don't even know what's in my mind right now, never mind older work, lol. The canvas pattern comes out because it is a scan at 600 dpi, much better than a photo.

👋 Hi @thermoplastic, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

✅ Join the Sketchbook Community