MY WORK FEATURED IN THE RUE MORGUE 200th ANNIVERSARY ISSUE

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

I am stoked to have been featured in the
200th Anniversary Issue of RUE MORGUE MAGAZINE for May/June 2021.

On June 16th I got a surprise in the mail. Back in February/March I was asked by British writer Rich Johnson (who also writes for Fangoria Magazine) if I would like to see my work published. We had some conversations via email, eventually I almost forgot about it. Then this package arrived, with two complimentary copies. Well written, it got down to the gist of what we talked about.
The magazine article centered on a signature work of mine that I had published before already on this blockchain (a couple of times, most recently): DETERIORATION OF MIND OVER MATTER - below I will add images for the artworks, but as a title image, here is a detail from one of the paintings featured:

MONUMENT TO THE UNBORN WAR HERO - detail-Wolf.jpg
Detail from my painting MONUMENT TO THE UNBORN WAR HERO

But first, to the subject: here is the front page of the magazine

Scan_20210616-web1600.jpg

Below are the inside pages of the article about my work
to easily read the content, right-click the images and open in separate window, then enlarge, that way they are scrollable

Scan_20210616 (2)-web2000dpi72.jpgRue Morgue, page 30

Scan_20210616 (3-)web2000dpi72.jpg
Rue Morgue, page 31


The four featured images


DETERIORATION OF MIND OVER MATTER 001-large 300dpi-web1600.jpg
DETERIORATION OF MIND OVER MATTER

also mentioned in the article: this image of "Deterioration" was used for the album cover of
VENGEANCE OF MINE
Abnormal Condition of the Mind


Since this was published, I had additional conversations with the writer, Rich Johnson. On the Magazin comment page I had already left a comment of thanks for the feature:

Rue Morgue Comment.JPG

My latest email in reply:

I mentioned before, in my posts on Social Media, that this article was well written and encapsulated in concise form the many conversations we had about my background and experiences. It captured particularly the early childhood influences from the post-war period in my hometown Vienna that were certainly a big subconscious influence in my work, particularly my early work of my mature period once I had settled in Canada. The artists that influenced me the most had similar memories from their past, with Ernst Fuchs being 14 years, and H.R. Giger 4 years older than me. Even someone 3 years younger, Gottfried Helnwein, had still experienced the scars of this post-war period in Vienna, where he studied at the Academy I had visited often as a teenager to observe the students there.


The seventies and eighties in Canada were probably the most productive, but since returning to Vienna in 2011 (to stay) I had again been very active, working in my studio. There is now a emphasis on drawing in my more recent work.



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG
13122819_875562545923591_2724879621137156873_o-crp500sm.jpg
at the Fuchs Villa in Vienna
If you find this useful, please repost!
MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you 😀

Congratulations on getting a spot in that feature! Must feel nice to get appreciated. With all of your life's work... i am sure there is much to be appreciated! Keep up the great art! =)

Thanks - not the first write-up, but a friend who is into all this horror and fantasy stuff says this is indeed a big deal, and that mag has fans worldwide.

Yes, I grew up with Fangoria! It has made a big comeback... kind of like Universal Monsters magazine. Definitely a big deal in the horror circles! You have fans worldwide too! hahaha Even more now!

Congratulations Otto for your featured post in the magazine.. Great to see you here again.. Been away for a while but now I am back pisging agsin on Hive.. We relocated from 21st District to the 22nd last year.. We are now just 1 km away from the Lobau. Will the group have a plan for a meet up this Summer?

 3 years ago (edited) 

I keep telling them to do outdoor meets: no 3G and all that crap getting into restaurants. Deaf ears. We did it once, quite some time ago, meeting at Badesee Hirschstetten. Everyone brings something to eat and maybe a cooler of beers - more economical that way also.
I didn't go to the last meet, I will not jump through all those Corona hoops. By the way, we are not so far from each other: I am in 21st, walking distance to the Alte Donau. I usually go to the beach just east of the Birner Steig, next to the Angelibad. I posted pics of that here.
https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@thermoplastic/upper-old-danube-floridsdorf-vienna

 3 years ago (edited) 

Update: I posted a scanned image of the article as a file on my website:

Scan_20210616 combined-forWeb-trifold.jpg