thermoplastic cross-posted this post in OnChainArt 2 years ago


SURREAL GOGGLE VIEW - completely analog!

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)

About distortions:
“I see everything outside of me through the lens of everything that is inside of me. Therefore, before I look at the world outside I’d be wise to look at the lens inside.”
Craig D. Lounsbrough

I see lately a lot of AI, and myself I had been plugged into that for some time and created a ton of images which I might post more at some point. I recently published this one here, about 3 weeks ago: FACE OF THE APOCALYPSE.

Rummaging through my pile of photos (looking for something else entirely) I just happened to run across this one, which I forgot all about, May 2018 - and a totally analog photo:
DSCN9465.JPGbut of course, I did use a trick: Photographing a detail from one of my paintings through the lens of some distortion goggles. No digital work involved, other than regular photo post-processing.
For a while I was not quite sure which painting it was, but then going through my paintings album on Flickr, I found it - FOMORII INCUBATOR - IN THE BEGINNING II (2012):
IMG_7240sm.jpg

So what posessed me at that time to take this shot? A friend of mine who has had a studio at the Kunstquartier Wien where I am had ordered some fun goggles and was running around with them, bumping into stuff as if drunk. I tried them out, and they were super cool, so I ordered them for myself and suggested we should wear them all day long and see which one of us will be the first one getting seriously hurt, lol.
Here are a couple of shots where I was wearing (but not actually using) them at Carnival time:

Febr 2017 - 47649994881_d18ba86741_o.jpg
another photo which was taken through the lens of these goggles was a selfie I took - rather than milking it for another post, here it is, combined (cloned) with an image I photographed through a Kaleidoscope.

March 2017 - 40683382923_26f569c396_o.jpg

DSCN9472psplay-WEB2000.jpg as you can see, there are possibilities to do stuff without AI. In the above case, post-processing included cloning two images together that I created with some simple tricks directly with the camera. Mind you, taking photos through a Kaleidoscope is a bit difficult.



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

46734295645_3f11ced86f_w.jpg
distorted image of myself taken by Peter Gric

If you find this useful, please repost!
MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.