THE EYES HAVE IT 👀

in OnChainArt3 years ago

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: his eyes are closed.”
Albert Einstein

EXQUISITE CORPSE - THE EYES HAVE IT
ExquisiteCorpseComp-WEB2000.jpg
Exquisite Corpse cooperative drawing by Otto Rapp & Janelle McKain - graphite on paper - 2009 - 24x27 cm

This was a COLLABORATION with Janelle McKain. It is based on the concept of the Exquisite Corpse originating with the Surrealists, initially as a parlor game. On DeviantArt it became a elaborate game played usually between two artists. Unfortunately, Janelle does not have a account on DeviantArt anymore. I posted our work HERE on my DeviantArt page once it was completed (Published: Jul 4, 2009).
She drew the bottom half and sent it to me covered with a small strip showing (took me forever to peel all the tape after I was done, lol), I then completed the top part. The group Collaborative Corpse where this was posted in on DeviantArt has not seen any activity in recent years.

DETAILS
ExquisiteCorpseComp-detail-top-WEB2000.jpg
This is the top part I finished - below is Janelle's bottom part that was covered, except for a small strip
ExquisiteCorpseComp-detail-bottom-WEB2000.jpg
This is Janelle's part on the bottom of the page which I could not see until I finished mine. Of course one does not peek - you only look at the whole thing after finishing. That's also when I signed it, bottom left, while Janelle's signature is bottom right.
If you look at these two halves carefully, you can discern a certain difference in style of drawing between the two of us.

I was not all that active in this type of collaborative game, only did one other with different artist, whom I will post next time. Previously posted however were large collaborative projects of Antipodes - Kilroy was Here and Antipodes - Myth that I had posted about before. But these were different, inasmuch as there were many artists involved and one could see what everyone else was doing, and a coordinator would join the panels.



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG
336662_10150493687281477_147289452_oZADEMACK-RAPP-GALERIE10-2011-crp-light500px.jpg

If you find this useful, please repost!

MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

Sort:  

It's a great collaboration that they have done in this illustration. It's so weird, if I were a video game developer, I would include it for some horror game or something, the design is chaotic in my opinion.

Chaotic is a good description - you ought to see what else is being posted in this regard on DeviantArt: https://www.deviantart.com/theexquisitecorpse/gallery/