Why did the Lion slay the Dragon or did he ?

in OnChainArt11 months ago

The task

I am working on the idea of a lion slaying a dragon. In this process I walk you through the steps and what goes in my mind as I a draw and why I need a back story.
Also should killing and violence be part of the story of the good winning over the bad or can we change the narrative.

So Here I start the process with a blank canvas as usual

00.jpg

For ease of reference I use a grid and rulers

0a-blank can with lines.jpg

I start drawing

I start drawing a lion. I am looking to create a profile of its face.

a1.jpg

It is nothing much to look at right now

2a.jpg

As I am drawing one doubt or rather a question keeps creeping up in the mind and it is why?

Why would the lion slay the Dragon?

There has to be a reason or a back story
We humans kill for game or pleasure but animals kill only when they are hungry. The other common reason is when their territory is invaded.
Thinking along the lines I am exploring the idea of giving the lion a human form maybe head of a lion and the body of a human.

1a-why.jpg

As I am dealing with the why question this is how the lion head profile id coming along

3a.jpg

Not perfect but it looks somewhat like a lion.
Let me do some color fill to get a better view.This would not be the final color but just doing this to see how it looks with a solid color fill.

4a.jpg

Let us work on the human like body
It would be a prehistoric kind of person maybe a cave dweller or a nomad kind of character.

This is how the body is coming along

body01.jpg

Not too fancy but with a toon like feel
Lets add some feet
I give it one foot

1-foot.jpg

Then another one

2-feet.jpg

They look too big but I would stick with them for now and do any adjustments later.
Let me give it a hand

not perfect.jpg

Not perfect but it is coming along OK

How would it kill the dragon?

Let me give it a spear as spears were used back in that time
After much deliberation
This is how it is coming along. I have given it a spear with a sharp tip.
Perhaps it is sharp enough to slay the dragon.

not perfect1.jpg

This is not the final look and I need to fix a couple of things and also draw the dragon

I fix the proportion and the lion begins to improve.

u1lion with spear.jpg

let me add some design to the clothes

u2lion with spear.jpg

I am adding some skin color and feel the head needs some fixing

u4-lion final.jpg

After working for so long one this character I have some idea of a back story
The dragon is something similar to the Loch Ness Moster that is hiding in the water hole that the lion visits.
However it is alleged that the dragon kills and attacks the animals that visit the water hole to drink water.

Thus the lion takes upon himself to kill the dragon

I did a quick draw of the dragon
and my final look of the lion slaying the dragon looks like this

lion kills.jpg

The lion is positioned at a higher position than the dragon and has a tactical advantage.
This gives him a win and I would prefer that in the end the lion being the winner asks the dragon to leave or as an alternative end the dragon becomes a loyal subject of the Lion promising never to hurt or harm anyone.

Death in a lot of cultures is looked upon finality but is it actually the end or is there something beyond that?
I would leave that topic for another discussion but good can win over evil without killing is the bottom line and peacefully co exist without strife or hatred.
That would be the world I want to see.
Back to this post...

I have added the sun to give it some perspective. I feel there are lots of things that I can do here.
However this being a proof of concept it serves the purpose.

If you are active in the Web 3.0 space chances are you would have heard about the leo threads adoption campaign
One of the task involves the theme of a Lion slaying a dragon and we are supposed to interpret this theme and create an art around this idea.
Leofinance is a later 2 project built over the hive blockchain.

Leo threads is a new micro blogging platform built over hive.

Do join the leo threads $10000 adoption quest and give your self a chance to win from a pool of happening prizes.
You can join the $10000 prize leo threads quest here

Thanks for reading my post
Best Wishes
@thetimetravelerz

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks @indiaunited and @bhattg bhai for the curation

https://leofinance.io/threads/thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-3a1wz3xfx
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @thetimetravelerz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 5500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

Good digital drawing. The process was perfect. I wish I could take part.