Angela Davis (illustration with markers)

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hi!
Today I will show an illustration with markers. I recently started learning how to draw with this material. And in particular, I really enjoyed drawing portraits. They are bright and characteristic. I drew a portrait of Angela Davis yesterday.

Angela Davis is an American political activist, philosopher, academic, and author.

When I was a child, I saw this woman on TV and heard about her activities. I remember the slogan "Freedom to Angela Davis!", which was popular in my country when it was the USSR.

IMG_20200908_22381803.jpeg

Process

Markers are a new material for me...I can't say that about watercolors or colored pencils, which I still love. Drawing with markers is different from how I did it before. But I like the final result!

IMG_20200908_214006.jpg

First of all, as always, draw a sketch. My hand is still not so good at repeating the shape, so I use a pencil, then use an eraser and only draw a thin line on top with a light marker. Professionals draw a sketch with a light marker without a pencil.

IMG_20200908_214755.jpg

Next, I fill in the color of the face, neck and leave empty spaces under the eyes and mouth. I add shadows around the eyes and on the neck.

IMG_20200908_220611.jpg

I draw red clothes.

IMG_20200908_221025.jpg

I add glasses to her face

IMG_20200908_223318.jpg

I draw my hair with a black marker and add a black and white liner.

Cheers
Veta

Sort:  

This is a beauty draw darlind, congratulations... greetings from Venezuela. Angelas Davis is a great woman.

Markers are definitely not the easiest medium to work with but once you get it right they create fantastic results. I think you did an absolutely brilliant job! !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that not only welcomes ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

🎁 Hi @veta-less! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Very cool portrait, @veta-less! Her expression is really amusing! 🤗

@trincowski Thanks! I've never drawn people's faces before. I am glad that I can convey emotions)