Refugee Life Diary | Busy Bee, Sudden Death of a Ukrainian in our Shelter...

in Life Stories2 years ago

I have been having long days recently, I couldn't even get time to talk to my father. Now you must be wondering what kept me so busy and on my toe. The entire document process was so exhausting that I couldn't even relax a bit except for the night's sleep. This weekend I went out with Gigi to the Dog park and we spent a long time there. Then after dinner, I fall asleep because it was a tiring day. I felt so tired after the long walk on a warm day so I just couldn't hold myself to sleep.

Sunday morning started with a lot of chores too, I had to do laundry which I hate most nowadays because I usually have to make an appointment for laundry day 3-4 days ago and have to be on time. On laundry day I always have to go back and forth to check everything and then also have to dry within the limited time. I miss my washing machine, every day I learn new things and start appreciating the life I had.


Also this Sunday, I attended an event in the church, and I was invited there. I have never been to the church, especially inside before, so it was a whole new experience for me. The event was arranged for Ukrainians and there was a lot of food available for everyone. I met a lot of people from the different communities there and got a chance to connect with each other. It was a great day. I will write a separate post about this event, I am sure you will be surprised to see how much love and help I have got for myself and for my dog... The location was far away from the place where I am now, it had taken 30 minutes by bus to reach there. The location was beautiful indeed, it is known as "Almere Port".

I forgot to mention that on Friday, I went to the food bank to collect the groceries for this month, I couldn't pick up much because I was so late and the queue was big. But I have got some nice secondhand clothes though from there...


My landlord went to my apartment to check the condition, he sent me some photos as well. I was literally crying seeing those images. My orchids are started giving flowers again, the window sill is full of flowers now. They were like my babies once and seeing them like this made me emotional. You might be thinking I am crazy but I love my orchids a lot. If I had the chance, I would have brought them with me. My landlord watered them and cleaned the house. He informed me that the condition in Kharkiv is calm now but still dangerous. I have sent him some money because I haven't paid any rent for the last 2 months. He didn't ask for the rent but I wanted to give him the money so that he can use it for his family and for his 8-month-old daughter "Veronica".

Today is Monday, almost evening now. I have been busy the entire morning and finally, I managed time to write this post. I woke up at 7.00 am and finished my breakfast first. I had an appointment with the Cityhall Almere at 9.30 am so I was in hurry. The whole point of this appointment was to discuss my allowance which I will get from the government because still, I haven't received any money. This was basically a whole new story and I have spent 3 hours there for the process, still not done yet.

Then I went to the bank to solve the debit card issue but their system was down. It was an unlucky day for me.


20220511_163614.jpg


After coming to the shelter, I have received another bad news. A 30-35 years old Ukrainian woman was found dead in the bathroom. Her roommate found her dead in the morning but as I was so busy, I didn't hear anything timely. The police were all around the shelter and investigating the cause of the death. Nobody knows anything...She was not sick at all, she was outside the entire night. Nobody knows when she had returned to the room including her roommate because the roommate was sleeping. It is really a shocking death. I can't imagine how her parents are feeling now and what they are going through. I wish her peace...

I started learning the Dutch language and I am taking it seriously this time. I am not very good at the Ukrainian or Russian language so that's why this time I have taken this lesson so seriously. A Dutch woman is helping me learn the language, I have found her at the Dog Park. She is a sweet person and when I told her that I want to learn Dutch, she decided to help me to learn the basics of the Dutch language. She is so generous...

I wanted to share my life update with you, basically, I wanted to talk to you guys...

See you around...



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  

The things you are experiencing are so difficult, @priyanarc. My heart goes out to you. I hope you can be reunited with your apartment and orchids soon!

The entire experience is new to me and I struggle a lot every day dealing with so many things together. I have got a lot of help from around that's why surviving otherwise I don't know what I would do in this unknown country...

Thanks, dear, I hope I will go back home soon...

Best of luck, @priyanarc! Stay safe!

Thank you so much dear...

Happy to know that you are in a safe place now @priyanarc . Prayers for the Ukrainian who lost her life.

Wishing you more beautiful days ahead ❤️

Thank you so much, dear, I am hoping for the better days...

It sounds as though you have a very good landlord. I hope you will be reunited with your orchids. I understand that when you grow things they become your babies. It's very good of him to water them for you. ❤

I used to spend a long time raising them and waited for a long time (almost a year) to get flowers. My landlord is very kind, he normally waters them in two weeks so that doesn't harm the plants at all...

I am sure you will be surprised to see how much love and help I have got for myself and for my dog...

That is really nice to hear!

After coming to the shelter, I have received another bad news. A 30-35 years old Ukrainian woman was found dead in the bathroom. Her roommate found her dead in the morning but as I was so busy, I didn't hear anything timely. The police were all around the shelter and investigating the cause of the death. Nobody knows anything...She was not sick at all, she was outside the entire night. Nobody knows when she had returned to the room including her roommate because the roommate was sleeping. It is really a shocking death. I can't imagine how her parents are feeling now and what they are going through. I wish her peace...

Oh, no... That's so sad.

I started learning the Dutch language and I am taking it seriously this time. I am not very good at the Ukrainian or Russian language so that's why this time I have taken this lesson so seriously. A Dutch woman is helping me learn the language, I have found her at the Dog Park. She is a sweet person and when I told her that I want to learn Dutch, she decided to help me to learn the basics of the Dutch language. She is so generous...

Good luck on that. Russian is indeed quite hard for those of us who never used the Cyrillic alphabet. Since you already know English, I guess Dutch won't be as hard as Russian. But it won't be simple, since it's more closer to German, which has some tricky things, too. One thing in common with Russian is the case system.

Hugs, I wish you the best!

Yes, Dutch is closer to german and I am struggling with the pronunciation but I have decided that I will learn no matter what, pronunciation will automatically get corrected eventually...

Nice! Keep up the good work. You still use Duolingo?

Nope, I don't have that app anymore :(

Oh? What are you using to learn Dutch, then?

A dutch lady is teaching us, we do an online class with her every day for 1 hour...

That is a great method! 🤗

Knowledge of the language of the country you are in is very important for adaptation. Take care of yourself.

I really hope I learn Dutch this time, I sometimes feel ashamed that I can't speak Ukrainian... :(

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The experience in the church sounds interesting.

I can understand how moving you are to see photos of your plants, as you say, they were your babies and to see that even though you are not with them, they are blooming anyway, it is something that would make me tear up too.

The work that your landlord does is something that I admire, staying and taking care of other people's houses is something that I don't think I would be able to do if I were in his place.

It is good that you put effort into learning the language.

The work that your landlord does is something that I admire, staying and taking care of other people's houses is something that I don't think I would be able to do if I were in his place.

This is really generous of him and I wonder how he is doing all of these...Even he is taking care of my plants too...

Let's see how everything turns out in the future, hopefully, good things will happen...

I share your wish, that the future brings good things (and better if they come soon LOL)

Stay !ALIVE

@priyanarc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @pedrobrito2004. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@tipu curate 💙💛 🇺🇦 💛💙

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 200/500) Liquid rewards.

Thank you so much...

Hi dear @priyanarc. I understand your feelings very well: ...my orchids are started giving flowers again, the window sill is full of flowers now. They were like my babies once and seeing them like this made me emotional...
We put our souls where we live for a long time, where we are good ... Memories, memories ... I feel the same way when I am sent a photo from my house. For example, my cat eats grass ... I miss him!

IMG_20220519_120141.jpg

Hi Olga, I hope you are doing well. You always understand my feelings because somehow we are on the same boat holding similar emotions and feelings. I know how you feel when you see your cat, he is so adorable. All of our beautiful memories always make us feel emotional and it is hard to express. A lot of sentiments are related, some are so personal which we only feel inside us...

I hope you are doing good in Turkey... @olga.maslievich

Hello. Your story is extremely sensitive. Good luck in your new life in Holland

Thanks a lot, dear, I hope you are doing good too and staying safe...

Yes, I'm good too.