wulff-media cross-posted this post in Curie last year


"Winter Wonderland" - An Oil Pastel Painting

20221129_145522.jpg
 
"Winter Wonderland"
Oil Pastel on Paper, 40cm x 30cm (15¾" x 11⅞")
After an Original Motif by Joni Young, Vancouver BC.
 

My wife Caroline (@caro-art) occasionally looks to her Canadian artist friend Joni Young for inspiration as she admires her greatly. Besides being an accomplished fine art landscape painter, Joni has a knack for vibrant, whimsical scenes. So I allowed myself to borrow a motif from Joni, but with a twist:

I wanted to see whether an existing acrylic painting could be (loosely) imitated with oil pastels without losing its character. Low and behold, it can be! The more I work with oil pastels, the more I'm beginning to appreciate the versatlity of this underrated art medium. As I mentioned before, I, too, was quick to dismiss oil pastel as glorified crayons and kids' colors.

I was ready to throw mine in the garbage, when I decided to give them one more try and a little more study time. Now I love those darn things and I believe I finally found "my" art medium after 3 years of learning to paint.

Regarding this picture, it is important to note, that it was done only in oil pastel without any underpainting. That was the object of this test. Normally, I like to underpaint my pictures loosely with gouache which extends the coverage of the pastel sticks and speeds up painting.
 


 

Meine Frau Caroline (@caro-art) lässt sich gelegentlich von ihrer kanadischen Künstlerfreundin Joni Young inspirieren, die sie sehr bewundert. Joni ist nicht nur eine hervorragende Landschaftsmalerin, sondern hat auch ein Händchen für niedliche Szenen in bunten Farben. Also habe auch ich mir erlaubt, ein Motiv von Joni zu übernehmen, allerdings mit einer kleinen Abwandlung:

Ich wollte sehen, ob sich ein bestehendes Acrylgemälde mit Ölpastellkreiden (locker) imitieren lässt, ohne dass es seinen Charakter verliert. Und siehe da, es geht! Je mehr ich mit Ölpastell arbeite, desto mehr lerne ich die Vielseitigkeit dieses unterbewerteten Kunstmediums zu schätzen. Wie ich bereits erwähnt habe, habe auch ich ursprünglich Ölpastellkreiden schnell als glorifizierte Wachsmaler und Kinderfarben abgetan.

Ich war schon kurz davor, sie in den Müll zu werfen, als ich beschloss, es noch einmal zu versuchen und ein wenig mehr Zeit zum Lernen zu investieren. Jetzt liebe ich diese verflixten Dinger, und ich glaube, dass ich nach 3 Jahren Malen lernen endlich "mein" Kunstmedium gefunden habe.

Bei diesem Bild ist es wichtig zu erwähnen, dass es ausschließlich in Ölpastell gemalt wurde, ohne jegliche Untermalung. Das war der Zweck dieses Tests. Normalerweise untermale ich meine Bilder gerne locker mit Gouache, was die Deckkraft der Pastellstifte erhöht und das Malen etwas beschleunigt.
 

20221129_145522.jpg

Sort:  

Dear @wulff-media,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!