HIVE CHESS COACHING: Saturday Thematic Tournament on the Closed Sicilian 1 (Lichess Study included)

in The Chess Community2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


♔ HIVE CHESS COACHING: Saturday's Thematic Tournament on the Closed Sicilian 1 (Lichess Study included!) ♟


Hey everybody! Especially to the members of the Hive Chess Community! This is another lesson of our traditional series of Chess Coaching for #HiveChess.

In the video I discuss the opening line for this Saturday's tournament, which is the Closed Sicilian, the fiancheto variation, which we reach via this move order 1. e4 c5 2. Nc3 Nc6 3. g3 g6 4. Bg2. We're going to cover a couple of ideas from white's perspective, that is, 1. the battery Queen plus Bishop to attack the castle with Bh6 and h4, and 2. A pawn storm on the kingside based on f4-f5-f6, g3-g4-g5 and sometimes h4-h5, etc. I provide the lines and a few model games.

You can take a look a the public Lichess Study I created for this lesson. Feel free to join and download it if you wish.

Well, I think the video is self-explanatory, so I hope you enjoy watching it. Don't forget to share the post and video and let me know what you think in the comments section.


One more time, I congratulate and thank @schamangerbert for his idea to organize thematic training tournaments on Saturdays. That's great for us to practice these ideas and improve. And with the same enthusiasm I want to invite everyone to join the weekend tournaments we are having, like the traditional Friday tournament with @stayoutoftherz and the new Sunday Chess Brothers League by @chessbrotherspro.


Note: except for the three flyers above, the images and videos in this post belong to the author.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Excelente, contenido de calidad como siempre

Gracias!

 2 years ago  

Very easy to follow,i Renner this specific closed variation was very used in the junior tournaments I used to play and I have to say that is really dangerous for black xd

Yes, it is!

I routinely use the queen and bishop battery in almost all my tournament. I was not aware of the name and don’t always have great success with it though. I will watch the follow through on the video a few more times to see if I can improve on the series of moves.

However I had quite a bit of success putting the knights on K2 and Q2 instead of the sneaky bishops :).

Great. That's another setup. There are at least three different setups for white depending on how you place your pieces. I'm glad you found it useful. It motivates me to do more.