About too active kings, and other surprises

Dear chessfriends,
to shorten you the time until the next Hivechess season starts (in a week), I have here for you a small compilation of quite unexpected plot twist from some of my games which might be a good reminder of what kind of unpleasant things can happen in Blitz chess.

Dead draw?

Here Black can hope at best for a draw, right? I with the White pieces had a pawn more, but with the unequal Bishops I saw no chance to win this apart from losing on time. If the h3 pawn would have been on h5, things would be different :)
image.png
link to this position

But my opponent was not happy with a draw, instead he played for a win using the King as an active piece. Maybe too active? See for yourself:
image.png
Here I could all of a sudden mate him with b4++! What a turn of events!

Wrong variant, sir!

Speaking of an active king, it is for sure not healthy in classical chess, if after 4 moves a Black King lands on c5, like in this recent game:
image.png
White to play, mate in 4!

Apparently the opponent had mixed up the chess variants and was punished by being mated a few moves later. See this bizarre game here! I didn´t find the mate in 4, I was too puzzled, but only mated the guy in 9 moves.

Too greedy!

In this position I was quite lost, as I had blundered an exchange. The only chance was the somewhat awkward positioned black King. What would you play here as Black?
image.png
Black to move link to this position

I hope you played here e.g. ...Qd5 and eliminate any threats. Instead Black was too gready and played dc3x??

Of course you saw that I then could just mate Black with Qh5x++!
This is a quite common pattern you always should look out for (a pawn that seems defended but in reality is not defended due to a pin).

Too active king again

In this position material was equal, I with the Black pieces had 2 passed pawns, one heavily blocked by the White rooks, White had a passer too. Only later Stockfish told me that the position was won for Black but in Blitz mode I didn´t realize this.
image.png
link to this position

Few moves later after I gave a check (Re4+) the White king decided to be active and went to g5 - well my surprise was great when I realized that with h6++ all of a sudden Black is mate!
image.png

Missed win

In this position I had with Black somehow a good feeling. But I overlooked an immediate forced win. Can you spot it?

image.png
Black to move and win

Let me know your best move for Black in the comments!

The challenge

And finally a position not from an actual game, but a Lichess puzzle, as a challenge for you. Everything is hanging in Black´s camp, I had no clue what best to do. Can you find the win?
image.png
Black to move and win

The first who finds the correct answer gets a (virtual) PIZZA and a BEER.

See you all next week at the start of Season 7!

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Can you find the win?

Sure: :-)

  1. ... Qxf2+
  2. Kxf2 Bd4+ (with Rh1# to follw, for example 3. Re3 Bxe3+ 4. Ke1 Rh1#)

Exactly, apparently it was not a real challenge for you :)
!PIZZA and !BEER

Connect

Trade


@jaki01! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @stayoutoftherz.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

 3 years ago  

It starts with a check ... I think that's most of the time easier to find than any hidden, calm but very nasty move. ;)

True! When in doubt, look out for a check, even the most absurd looking :)


Hey @jaki01, here is a little bit of BEER from @stayoutoftherz for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  

In this position I had with Black somehow a good feeling. But I overlooked an immediate forced win. Can you spot it?

  1. ... fxg4+
  2. Kxg4 Qg2+ (2. Kxe4 Qc2#)
  3. Rg3 Qxg3#

Indeed!

Loading...

Looking forward to the next season of HiveChess, this time I think I will be able to participate in each of the tournaments.

Cheers @stayoutoftherz, great job for fun. Friend @ jaki01 has been quicker to respond, as well as good at his game hahahahaha
As for the position of: Wrong variant, sir!
I think the mate in 4 is like this:

  1. b4 + Kxb4
  2. Qa4 + Kc5
  3. Ba3 + Kb6
    Cheers @stayoutoftherz, great job for fun. Friend @ jaki01 has been quicker to respond, as well as good at his game hahahahaha
    As for the position of: Wrong variant, sir!
    I think the mate in 4 is like this:
  4. b4 + Kxb4
  5. Qa4 + Kc5
  6. Ba3 + Kb6
  7. Qb5 ++

But what if 1....Kd6 instead?

Congratulations @stayoutoftherz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 15000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I have exam for PhD studies tomorrow.

The tournament starts only on the 16th July :)

Good luck! You will rock it!