Crazy thoughts of jumping

in AFuckedUpCommunity3 years ago

This is not a very positive post, as my life is going into a very stressful situation. The job I'm currently working with is an insurance company, which I've been with for the past 7 years. Due to the recent pandemic, our sales has dropped below our budgeted production. At first, the management still tolerating, but now we've seen people gotten transfer department, moving out from their comfort zone.

image.png

People surrounding me has been going "missing" from time to time, and even now when I'm sitting at the office, there's hardly any people near me. They're either "invited" by the big shots to tender their resignation, or being transferred to department that will make them leave their position. By the rate this is going, I think pretty soon I will be the next one. Couple of days ago, a client of mine came to see me, we've briefly chatted about the current "situation", and he offered me to hook me up with one of the competitor's company manager, see if I will be able to secure a job with the competitor company.

image.png

After I've revised my 7 years old resume, I'm seriously turned down by myself. Seriously, even myself couldn't convince myself to hire myself with that pay. I am pretty sure the person who is going to review my resume will have a huge laugh until fall off the chair. The thought of jumping ship suddenly SUNK before I even have a chance to jump. I've talked to my friend TK from Texas, he did share with me his point of view, who am I afraid of? Myself or the man? I can actually hold this position for as long as I wanted to. At this stage, I'm still holding back everything I wanted to do, in order to change job.

image.png

It's not that I don't want to. Deep down in my heart, I understand there's no way I'll be able to survive long on the next job, due to the nature of business has changed. My job position is slowly being replaced by machines, and there's nothing much we can do to fix that. I was from IT background, changed to sales and marketing many years ago, and now the sales and marketing has been replaced by IT and SEO. Company may still want a delivery boy, and an IT guy who can design perfect user interface which I'm totally outdated, but definitely not an overpaid marketing personnel that goes out do drinking with client. I guess, I am running out of choice. I still wanna jump, like I'm holding back at the edge of the ship and seeing if there's any other rescue boat around my reach.

What? You think I'm gonna jump off the roof? Trust me, I did thought of it, but I'm just too afraid of pain and I'll faint before I climb to the edge. Cut my wrist? Nah! I'll faint if I sees blood. Jump to the ocean? Nope, I can't swim and afraid of suffocation. Don't introduce me new way to die, I still wanna live. I'm just having hard time trying to survive a bloody job right now.

Sort:  

可惜,英文不懂

 3 years ago  

謝謝二虎支持。看中文的吧。

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Congratulations @davidke20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

i dunno the full situation but all i can say is it took me years to finally start believing in myself.

 3 years ago  

I need to start looking into that. I just can't take the "job" anymore. It's slowly burning me off, and my bridges(clients) are not left not much for the industry to consume. Pretty soon, I will be left with enemies instead of friends.