I Love "FIREWORKS", But The Anime Was A Bit... Weird. xD



Recently I have been re-watching Haikyuu!! anime and it's already my 8th time. I know I'm crazy, but I just can't get enough of it. Aside from that, I've been constantly reading random manga especially under the BL genre. Because of this, I haven't really written any anime-related content.

There sure are a lot of interesting anime lined up this season as well as the previous season, however, I wanted to binge watch them, so I chose not to follow weekly. The con is that, I feel so lazy... haha But really, I'd do it... I'll binge watch numbers of anime soon after I watch Haikyuu!! hahaha

Despite not being able to watch anime series these days, I did watch an anime film a few days back. It's called "FIREWORKS" in English or 打ち上げ花火、下から見るか?横から見るか?(Uchiage Hanabi, Shita kara Miru ka? Yoko kara Miru ka?) in Japanese. Wait, why is the Japanese title so long? Well, if we literally translate the title, it means Fireworks, Should We See It from the Side or the Bottom?


image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



In the movie, there is this girl named Nazuna and a guy named Norimichi. Norimichi has a crush on her and his gaze always tend to follow her. One morning, Nazuna picked up a small ball by the sea. It attracted her because it was glittery and somewhat shining. She actually had a lot in mind since her mother decided to remarry and they are to leave the area they're currently living.

Later that afternoon, Nazuna, Norimichi and another guy named Yuusuke had a swimming competition. Nazuna wanted to invite Norimichi to the fireworks festival later that night but when Yuusuke won the swimming competition, she invited him instead.

A lot of things happened in between but when the festival was about to start Norimichi found himself looking at Nazuna being dragged by her mom because it was time to go. She actually wanted to runaway and brought a suitcase with her. Because of the forceful dragging, the suitcase fell open by the pathway and the shiny ball that morning rolled over. Not knowing what's happening anymore, Norimichi wished that he could do something for Nazuna. He thought that if he won the swimming competition that afternoon, she would have asked her out and he would be able to help her more. Having said his "what if", he threw the shiny ball and poof! They're back to what happened that afternoon. XD

VIDEO SOURCE


As you may have noticed in the trailer, the ball possess some magical powers which allowed Norimichi to go back and change what has been done. He ended up creating a world where only he and Nazuna existed, but this was just temporary. However, for both of them, this temporary escape is more than enough.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE

Now, why is the anime called "FIREWORKS"? Is it because of the festival? Or the fireworks they watched together? There was actually this part in the movie when Norimichi, Yuusuke and a bunch of other friends were debating whether fireworks were round or flat? They thought that it might depend on where you're watching it from... but did they find the real answer? I DON'T KNOW... hahaha

I think I should watch it to better understand everything. I guess, a lot of scenes were out of place that I couldn't catch up with it. Is it because I watched it at dawn and I was kind of sleepy already?

All I know is, the art style and the soundtrack are LIT! They're really good and they're enough to attract me to watch the movie... but story-wise? I don't know. haha I get what the movie wanted to say, but the way the story was introduced was a bit complex. There wasn't a clear transition from one scene to another... I just find it strange in some way.

Anyway, I'll end here. If you have already watched it, please tell me what you think.. :)