Rascal does not Dream of Bunny girl Senpai | The use of Physics to explain Puberty Syndrome

I was hesitant in watching this show even with a lot of great reviews and recommendations because the titular lead female character on the first episode comes out wearing a bunny girl costumes.

To me it felt like one of those harem animes where the main character go on saving women, lolis and hot milfs and they all fall in love with him.

So I never clicked it before even after watching the trailer. It did not feel like something I would watch.

This pandemic has really stretched what I would and would not watch and after months of overlooking it for any other anime I succumbed and clicked on it finally.

I did not binge watch it as I had projects and tasks to do and a full time job to attend to so I was content in watching one or two episodes.

I think it made me able to savor more because of that.

It opens with the main character Sakuta Azusagawa in a library when he notices a bunny girl walking around and seemingly no one else is seeing here.

We are introduced to Mai Sakurajima, our bunny girl. Who we get to know more about and the strange phenomenon called Puberty Syndrome which is a term used to describe abnormal experiences during adolescence as a result of sensitivity and instability.

Although considered an urban legend, this occurrence is experienced by each of the main characters.

It seems too fantastic but psychology states that a lot of our psychological and mental issues stem from experiences or trauma we experienced in our childhood or adolescent years.

Springboarding from that premise the show, through one of it's characters Rio Futaba, a science club geek uses physics terms and ideas as exposition of the phenomenon.

We get different girls having their own Puberty syndrome and attaching a physics theorem.

Mai as becoming invisible and being Schrödinger's cat. I first encountered the term watching The Big Bang Theory and while I cannot say that I am a genius and know physics just the thought of its use as a medium to explain is awesome for me.

Then we have another arc and introduced to another girl named Tomoe Koga as Sakuta experiences a day that kept repeating itself and finding Laplace Demon.

Even Rio Futaba talks about Quantum Entanglement and Quantum Teleportation as well as each person having three doppelgangers in the world.

Then we are also introduced to Nodoka Toyohama as she gets herself into a Freaky Friday situation and switches bodies.

Lastly, it is explained more why Sakuta believes in the Puberty Syndrome and how it affects his younger sister Kaede Azusagawa.

When you were expecting something light and funny and this anime hits you like a truck with the feels after.

Although I feel the quantum mechanics and physics were really not that important and was just something nice to have a lot of people point out to it as a weak point of the show as it tries to make it sound smart.

Yet to me I focused on the human aspect, of the pain, depression, anger and all the emotions that makes us who we are, vulnerable.

Beautifully told and how we all have something going on and why we need to have a Sakuta who will be there no matter what.

Definitely I would recommend watching it even if you feel some people will judge you for watching a bunny girl in its cover art.

Sort:  

Never heard of this anime but saw it on the list of new episodes from my favorite streaming site. I'm not really into the fanservice type which is why seeing the title and poster for the show made me steer clear away from it. Going to try watching this one too.

Same with me. I thought it was those harem fanservice type animes but I genuinely enjoy it and I hope you will too!

Amazing dialoge one of the best written anime that I have seen. It has been so amazing to see people evolve and take a look at the situation and deal with it in a mature manner rather than just react and have a mental breakdown.

The whole jealousy aspect as well is so different from the cliche animes about anime couples. This time, the gf is way more mature and understanding of the different situations without falling into cheesy drama.

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 5000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP