Art #8: Mikasa Ackerman

in The Anime Realm3 years ago (edited)




Attack on Titan manga has recently concluded it's story and it has left me feeling with a heavy heart. Not sure if it was due to how the story ended or because it is the last chapter, meaning no more updates next month and on the coming months. Right now, I am still on the process of shaking off this sad emotion. Attack on Titan has been the only anime and manga I'm into since early this year and so my emotional attachment to this story is really massive. And with the huge love I give for this story, I wanted to create a couple of fan art for it.

I've already drawn two Eren Yaeger fan art and I have recently finished a drawing of Jean which I could've posted yesterday but I feel like I should create and post a Mikasa fan art first because of how Attack on Titan ended.




See You Later, Eren




"Thank you, for wrapping this scarf around me."


mikasa9.jpg


(Note: Next paragraphs contain spoilers for anime watchers.)


Mikasa Ackerman, one of the main characters in Attack on Titan, is a strong soldier of the Survey Corps and at the same time a loving and loyal family to Armin and Eren. I find her character really cool, you know, because she can definitely singlehandedly kill titans. We know how much she loves Eren that's why it was a surprise to see her resolve on chapter 138. It's sad and tragic yet somehow a satisfying ending for Mikasa and Eren. You know, if only they were only born in a peaceful world, they could've live a happy life together!

Honestly, I find the scarf thing a bit cringey at first, but seeing the ending makes me feel very sentimental to it. It was the only thing left as a memory of Eren for Mikasa. I feel bad for the two because they haven't gotten the chance to confess their love. If only Mikasa would know how much Eren loves her and wants to be on her side. These kinds of love stories where both sides love each other but ends before it gets a chance really pains me.


mikasa10.jpg


I feel for Mikasa's heartbreak and so I thought of drawing her holding the scarf while crying. I tried to experiment on the lighting for this drawing to put some sad vibe to it. Though I'm not sure if I have shown it effectively. Guess I need more practice. I also find putting the light reflection on her hair difficult, I don't know why.




Drawing Process




mikasa11.png


I made a few touch-ups after completing the drawing. I've added more shadow on the crease of her eyes then fixed the shading of her tears. The one on the left which trickled down her cheek should get darker as it moves away from her cheekbone.


mikasa1.gif


Drawing Mikasa with this light source experiment took me more time than the usual but it was a good experience for me. Maybe I'll be better next time. I am also thinking of recoloring this art someday with simple colors similar to that on my third step. ❤️




Medium: Digital (Wacom Intuos)
Program: Clip Studio Paint
Time: Approximately 6.5 Hours
Gif made on Photoshop CS6





taky hive banner2.jpg




Sort:  

Congratulations @takyarts! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ya espero el de Levi! :)

Yes, I have Levi on my list too! :)