You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Devouring Thyself | Digital Painting

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago

The first time I encountered Francisco Goya's painting "Saturn Devouring His Son" was from a book making a commentary about cannibalism and how it is portrayed in modern day literature. Back then I never bothered to know who painted the work that served as the cover of the book until a friend enlightened me about the painter's name.

There is definitely something about the painting that can inspire and imprint something primal as one examines the work. The cover was the reason why I took up the book and used it for hobby reading. You captured some of its essence and rendered your own take quite well. 😃

Sort:  

Haha yeah, that work was just incredible. That book knows what exactly it needs :D Thank you! Although I wasn't that satisfied with it and pretty sure someday I'll do it again, I'm glad you think that way. :D