You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inanna

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago

Dude, her role in Gilgamesh is pretty epic. His nonchalant decline of her 'advances' was an epic of legend in and of itself! hahaha Great motif here and i love her hips. I'm surprised but also not that her breasts aren't nearly as 'fertile' looking as her ancient depictions. Great flare putting your style into this piece! Thanks for sharing it here with us in the community.

Sort:  

A very diverse Goddess, but also ancient and worshipped for such a long time under different names. But yes, almost always seen holding some perfect breasts. Artistic freedom I guess :) Having a goddess that both takes care of beauty, sex and war always fascinated me as they seem to be rather different fields. But somehow I also see the mystical connection. I read a new Danish translation of Gilgamesh recently and there she is tease (and angry when it doesn't come to fruition). In other texts which was more the inspiration for this one she is martial, and when she enters the realm of the dead she is defeated and vulnerable.

Yes, it's quite funny. Her reputation preceded her by the time she got the hots for Gilgamesh. Hahaha I also have found it to be strange that any fertility god or goddess would also be a war god/goddess. Seems like life and death are inseparable but that you would reside over one or the other and not necessarily both. I did a study on Innana and Ishtar and Ashteroth etc. It's pretty fascinating to see the differences as well as the syncretisms.

untitled.gif

Yes, exactly. Reminds me of this...

I just found this looking for my response... and i am pleasantly surprised at how fitting it is, in more ways than one! hahaha

Hoho, that's footage from one of my favourite films, Evil Dead II

Yes, i think it even spliced in some from part one as well! =)

Yep, noticed that, but wouldn't confuse the reply