Carving Jack πŸŽƒ: Scary Pumpkin Carving Jack-O-Lantern [Halloween]

in Alien Art Hive β€’ 3 years ago

IMG_20201023_193207.jpg

It has been years since I have carved one of these.

Halloween has always been one of my favorite times of year. In my book, it is a fun holiday for kids and adults alike.

Kids are encouraged on this one day of the year to act like kids. And a adults are less discouraged to act like kids too.

IMG_20201017_151717 1.jpg

Here is the pumpkin I started with. The variety is called Knucklehead because it is covered in these bulbous warts.

IMG_20201017_152901.jpg

I used a stencil to carve out the circular top. I measured it to a specific size for a secret project I've got up my sleeve.

Using permanent marker, it was challenging to draw lines for the face. There are no flat surfaces on this pumpkin. Often I had to follow a dotted line across the various wrinkle gaps over the rind.

IMG_20201017_172713.jpg

My smallest pumpkin carving saw snapped half-way through carving. The rind was very thick! Cutting through some of rind was a bit like sawing through wood.

I ended up saving the carved out bits and cooking it up. See my last post. It tasted delicious!

IMG_20201023_192635.jpg

Tonight I decided to take some night photos.

Inside I used an electric flickering candle. πŸ”₯πŸ•―οΈ

IMG_20201023_192655.jpg

With a photo filter, it looks a bit like the headless horseman.

A ball of fire flying through the sky. πŸ‘»βš°οΈπŸ’€πŸŒ•πŸ˜ˆ

There is not a camera in the world that does proper justice for a real Jack-O-Lantern glowing in the night. This one turned out extra spooky!

IMG_20201023_192658.jpg

πŸ‘» Contest πŸ‘»

Just a reminder I am running an active contest.

Does anyone still participate in contests on Hive? I barely even get comments anymore. πŸ¦‡πŸ•·οΈπŸ•ΈοΈ

See my contest post to participate and win the prize.

Post a photo of an old Halloween tree by Nov. 1st and I'll reward you! 🍬

IMG_20201017_151742.jpg

πŸŽƒ Happy Halloween! πŸŽƒ

IMG_20201023_193204.jpg

IMG_20201016_152542.jpg

Post Beneficiaries:

This is my way of thanking each of you for your friendship and support. By sharing my talents on Hive, I can also share to help with your needs.

Let my success also grant you some happiness too.

Sort: Β 

The wartie pumpkin makes for such a great Halloween face, good job with the carve.

That "wartie" face looks like it's begging for a witch's hat!

I love your Jack !

You did get good photos of it lit up I think. I noticed years ago if a pumpkin was a dark color or very thick so that it did not let a lot of light shine through the skin, the lit up face showed better at night.

Great job !

Scary good -- I enjoyed your walking us through the process!

Yes, I still participate in contests on Hive, and place well in them ... so I am looking up your contest now!

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Woah thats a crazy lookkng pumpkin, turned out great!