Zed's choice | pg 11 to 13 | Draft Comic Book created with AI drawing tools

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)
Previous episode : Page 1 Page 2 Page 3&4 Page 5 to 7 Page 8 to 10

Page_12.png

Page_13.jpg

Page_14.jpg


Zed's choice - previous episodes

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3&4Page5 to 7Page 8 to 10

Processing Note:

For this pages i still try to stick to a more coherent graphical visual space, therefore when my draft page is almost finished, i currently use VQGAN+CLIP loaded with the wikiart model, and prompted with something like "colored and painted by [name of an artist]. Global graphic coherence (colors, style of drawing) all along the comic book is still quite challenging but at least i will try to stick on some full pages. New scripts, algorythms and models have been recently released these last two weeks on this very dynamic scene and i will probably abuse them shortly to continue this project. ( new keywords here are , rudalle, v-diffusion-jax v2 and Arbitrary Neural Style Transfer to name a few .)

The general rules of my creative processes is explained in some previous posts : I use a couple of AI graphic tools like IC-GAN, VQGAN+CLIP, CLIP guided diffusion etc. More info here and here. I use them in pipelines as explained here to produce pictures i can use to build this draft comic book experiment. Beyond my own cultural backgrounds to sketch the scenario i also use some AI nlp tools as inspiration source by discussing with chatbots, or prompting them to create characters templates and other ideas.

If you are curious, I would also recommend consulting the posts shared in the Latent Space Community - a child of - the Alien Art Hive Community.

From my creative process, i also now offer some exclusive collectible visual artworks produced during the "making of" this experiments, which from my perspective, could be art piece on their own. A new piece has just been released. See therefore my NFTshowroom Gallery.

Don't hesitate to drop comments or questions, and all my gratitude to the Alien Art Hive Community for your support and comments so far.


My previous posts are here.
Now also some periodical chirping news via https://twitter.com/Dbddv01
Sort:  

This one turned out really cool. The whole idea and concept is fantastic. I am really glad you have been sticking with it. I think this one has been my favorite so far! How do you create the storyboard or comic style layout? You have done an excellent job making a nice sleek looking graphic novel!

Hi Casleberry, i use an old pretty cheap, very easy to use, piece of software called ComicLife, strictly designed for putting the pictures into Comic book frames and dialog baloons ( the software has some filters and paint tools, but i don't use that). Nothing else, see https://plasq.com/ When i got enough pictures, i put it on a template page, stick some baloons, and reshuffle primay ideas during a couple of days, upscaling pictures, trying to get graphical style. the scenario is like in a soap, some general ideas are in my head but the story is taking shape post by posts, depending on the pictures i get. If curious, i will maybe detail a little bit more the "making of" in next posts by showing example of the genesis of a page...

That is super cool. Thanks for answering and i think it would make a good 'behind the scenes' post to show how you go about making these. I just checked that site out and it looks really cool. Do you pay monthly or like a one time fee?

Keep up the great work my friend.

I bought a long time ago a basic registration key ( about 30$ i think). But you can try during 30 days free trial, after you get a watemark.

ahh cool. Thanks for the info =)

Congratulations @dbddv01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18

This is SO fascinating to me @dbddv01 this is only my second post reading now, and it mentions AI art generation...I think the 'fates' are giving me a nudge :) It's so intriguing and I really like the path you are taking with it. The concept of the machine as a tool for we artists has always fascinated me, it's one of the reasons I moved so much of my 'traditional art techniques of oil/paste/watercolour/pencil' to digital formats, tho I do it so old fashionably I am sure :) But I am intrigued, I love how this community is always putting new things in my path.

Hello donnadavisart,
I have the highest respect for artist who are using traditional techniques. Even if i had always been interested by visual art, i miss skills and techniques to draw anything that would satisfy me. AI is here helping me filling this gap. I'm not considering myself as a artist in drawing or painting, but i like to stares at pictures, telling short or long stories with them, etc. What those tools produces is sometimes really striking and fascinating, but we must never forget that they are using human creative artwork as source of inspiration. Without real human artists feeding them, they would just spit unbearable list of one and zeros... We are in fascinating era where those programs begins to be powerful, and as long we stay in driver seat, they offers great ways of numerous visual exploration. Don't hesitate to dive in it, but at the end, your 'analog' artifex in my eyes will remain the most valuable one.

These are my favourite pages too, till now!:)