Shaken Potion(s) Syndrome -- My First Video Art on NFT Showroom!

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

So, y'all want to keep shaking those potions, eh?

Don't say that you weren't warned... (and if you don't want to clean up a magical mess, pick up one of the three editions and enjoy this piece in NFT form instead!)

So, three days ago I put up a post about a shaken fractal potion I had made in the process of working on my Fractal Glassine series in Apophysis -- this thing here...

shaken potion.png

... and then upon zooming out and changing the palette I discovered that I could make an explosion of color that filled the frame...

shaken potion poison.png

And then I thought to myself, "How far can I get with ONE FRACTAL, colored in several different palettes and recolored within the gradient of those palettes in Apophysis?" Inside a fractal, a simple change in coloring gets us either subtle changes within a scene OR from a bottle to an absolute explosion of color that tests whether the edge of the picture can hold it!

So, here we have 33 of the 60 cases in which all those fractal bottles were shaken up ... sometimes they just squirted out, the different chemical reactions of the liquids in all the little fractal bottles in every bottle causing a difference in play of color ... sometimes by the end of a particular color scheme, there is no visible bottle left, and you can imagine the edge of the scene this happens in rattling as the explosion hits the sides!

Some of these inside a video game would CLEARLY be game over ... but not all of them! I have used the music to hint at which groups I think would be fatal and which not ... some of these might change things in a game plot for the better!

Speaking of music, I composed this piece of music and scored it in Finale.

shaken potion score beginning.png

I was classically trained, and so played my share of Bach, whose perpetual motion pieces were the model for some of the classic old video game music pieces ... the humor of Mozart and Haydn also shows up as well in that sphere ... so I kept that in mind, added some polyrhythms from my own African-American (and thus, distant but still acknowledged West African) heritage, and wrote a high-energy video-game type piece with episodes for different kinds of scenes one might encounter ... enjoy the adventure!

Big thank you once again the @kaliyuga for the daily inspiration around potions, and also to @vachemorte and @elgecko, who show what can be done with video art -- March of the Squids changed my whole view about what was possible! And, big shoutout to @juliakponsford and the whole team at NFT Showroom for getting video enabled ... I struggled with finding the right codec, but @reazuliqbal got me straight there -- thus, the proper name of this piece is Shaken Potion Syndrome, but after burning the disaster of my first attempt, I had to add an S to potion(s) to re-tokenize and not have a duplicate name!

Anyway, enough talk -- enjoy!

Sort:  

We should collaborate sometime, this is great :)

YES -- I would welcome that -- you must have at least 100 potions, 10-15 isolations -- those isolations could make for some great music as well ... let's chat!

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!