little cthulhu my first arcade game! ENG-ESP

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago

hi dear hivers! Today I'm really happy because I finished my first arcade game!
I want to share you how I've made it. I wanted to do some "runner" arcade game, like that old nes game called "wonder boy / islander", where you controlled a caveman who runs and jumps spiders and snakes.
When I was thinking in the concept for my art, I wanted to mix it with some books characters I liked, so in this one I will use Lovecraft monsters!
The Lovecraft books' monster were like strange entities with tentacles who drove the people mad, so I will draw like a cute version of Cthulhu! The humanoid with an octopus face!

¡Hola queridos hivers! ¡Hoy estoy muy feliz porque terminé mi primer juego de arcade!
Quiero compartirles como lo he hecho. Quería hacer un juego de arcade de "runners", como ese viejo juego de nes llamado "wonder boy / islander", donde controlas a un hombre de las cavernas que corre y salta arañas y serpientes.
Cuando estaba pensando en el concepto de mi arte, quería mezclarlo con algunos personajes de libros que me gustaban, ¡así que en este usaré monstruos de Lovecraft!
Los monstruos de los libros de Lovecraft eran como entidades extrañas con tentáculos que volvían loca a la gente, ¡así que dibujaré como una versión linda de Cthulhu! ¡El humanoide con cara de pulpo!

image.png

The game also need foes! Every time our runner touches one monster, he will die.
I'm drawing all with the mouse in Adobe Illustrator!

¡El juego también necesita enemigos! Cada vez que nuestro corredor toque un monstruo, morirá.
¡Estoy dibujando todo con el mouse en Adobe Illustrator!

image.png

and of course, I'm drawing the stages, the land will change in every stage, and it will move to cause the sensation of motion while the character is running!

y por supuesto, estoy dibujando los escenarios, la tierra cambiará en cada escenario, ¡y se moverá para causar la sensación de movimiento mientras el personaje corre!

image.png

I'm also drawing a giant monster that will move in the background, I will draw just half, and I will mirror it later.

También estoy dibujando un monstruo gigante que se moverá en el fondo, dibujaré solo la mitad y lo reflejaré más tarde.

image.png

if you complete the level, you will get one of the element gems! so I'm drawing the four gems

si completas el nivel, ¡obtendrás una de las gemas de elementos! así que estoy dibujando las cuatro gemas

image.png

and everything is ready for coding! this is the hard part! all the "sprites" have to move following patterns, and the runner have to move when you press the keyboard or the arrows in the screen.

¡y todo está listo para codificar! ¡Esta es la parte difícil! todos los "sprites" tienen que moverse siguiendo patrones, y el corredor tiene que moverse cuando presionas el teclado o las flechas en la pantalla.

image.png

and after testing it a lot! this is the result!
I'm so happy, my first arcade videogame!
you can play it here or collect the nfts!

y después de probarlo mucho! ¡este es el resultado!
¡Estoy tan feliz, mi primer videojuego arcade!
¡Puedes jugarlo aquí o coleccionar los nfts!

https://teia.art/objkt/775654

gif1.gif

I hope you like it! / espero les guste!

Sort:  

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@anikekirsten(3/15) tipped @delcarmat (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

thank you!

Love the style. Well done!

thank you! <3

Adorable and horrifying. All hail Cthulhu! Awesome concept and art. The setting is as Lovecraftian as they come, but also stinkin' cute! And the game is wonderful pogo, too. Congrats on your first game!

!PIZZA

thank youuuu!
yes i drew a lot of tentacles hahaha