Dreaming Doodle-land

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

f Custom.jpg

After a crazy amount of hours of work, I finally finished these doodles, which by the way, I know aren't doodles because of the insane amount of perfection that comes with doing them! lol

Whenever I vectorize artwork, I feel like I have to make it look perfect. The perfect lines just push me to do so. It takes a great deal of work to finish.

By definition (from dictionary.com) I find that

doodle

[ dood-l ]
verb (used with or without object), doo·dled, doo·dling.
to draw or scribble idly: He doodled during the whole lecture.
to waste (time) in aimless or foolish activity.
Dialect. to deceive; cheat.
noun
a design, figure, or the like, made by idle scribbling.
Archaic. a foolish or silly person.
Source

So maybe these are semi-doodles... LOL!

I do go idle when drawing and vectorizing or making inputs of 8-10 hrs of work a day , but I do have an aim with the hard work I've been putting in to my HIVE blog, Gumroad, Redbubble, Facebook, and Instagram :

I want to share, give back, make people feel good, create a better world. I want to inspire, make people smile, enjoy, have a good time doodling over or coloring my coloring pages.

For me, the hardest part has always been to monetize my artwork. I don't know why, it has always felt weird. My dream is to make a living out of my art while making all of the above possible, and I feel good because perhaps this is my time and place to do it. And yeah, I know it has always been, but there comes a time when you REALLY WANT IT and push forward no matter what. If feel like that's where I am at the moment. Covid isolation has given me some time to work on myself, and also on my art.

I haven't made a single sale in my shop - yet - lol. Maybe I'm doing something wrong 😋 I'm giving my best to get out there by sharing freebies, colors and aimlessly creating eye candy art that's full of good vibes. I've learned that I need to know my market and create for them, but to be honest that sometimes defeats the idea of making art.. Most of the time I'm stuck between art creation/expression and marketing/selling. But for sure, I can't be only "doodling" around! Can I? lol ;)

What I want in the core of my being, is to make MYSELF feel good and at the same time share the good feeling with everyone so they can jump around and have a doodlelife; to aimlessly have fun, scribble whatever, and still make it through the end of the day, satisfied, full of hope and energy to keep on rolling through this existence that is only nice and meaningful if you feel like it is - therefore making it so.

BIG THANK YOU

to everyone who supported me by voting on my last post and others, and helping me to keep on believing and doodling aimlessly, to (paradoxically) make my dream come true (aim). I still have a long way to go, but I feel like it's an awesome start.

Hope I don't sound corny or cheesy or I'm cliche'ing too much. Just wanted to express that I feel good to be here and share my art with everyone in the HIVE. I hope I can grow with the community and continue to share myself for the good of everyone involved.

Doodle on!

Thanks for stopping by.


And now to Doodle-land!

This sketch is part of a coloring book I have been trying to make since long ago. The mountain of work was so big, it took me a little while to decide to climb it - again - to vectorize the sketches on my sketchbook (which I made when I decided to climb the first peak of mount coloring book).

1.png

I don't have process pics this time. I tried recording some screen time but the cursor didn't record well.

The reason why this artwork took me so long, is because I made different versions of it, like I've been doing lately, but also because I was trying to make everything perfect, like I said earlier in this post. The end result isn't perfect, but I fixed most or many of the weird lines that I had made from the start. So the problem was making larger compositions with the original before fixing the details - lesson learned. I also think vectorizing is time consuming - as if the doodling isn't time consuming enough. I'm also pushing myself to the limit.

I'm making a series of the Doodle-land artwork I originally created. This is part 2.

This was the first version I vectorized

Doodle-land II

V1Transparent Custom.png

And then made a second colored version

V2Transparent Custom.png

Added some backgrounds to make "full" images without the transparent background.

1IGCorrectedDoodleLandIIColoringPagebyDoodledanga Custom.png

Mixed in some stars to the background of V2

2IGCorrectedDoodleLandIIV1 Custom.png

After some full days of work (bunch of hours), I decided to change the mountains and the skies on both. I actually did like 'em, but I wanted to add "something" to them - I wasn't sure what. I added this paper texture and it made the scenes dramatic and also made the images pop out.

paper1074131 Custom.jpg

Image by ChrisFiedler from Pixabay

I also decided to remove the background mountains because the doodles where already busy enough.

02DoodleLandIILandscapeV1 Custom.jpg

02DoodleLandIILandscapeV2 Custom.jpg

And finally I made two more busier - almost horror vacui - versions of the artwork. These were both composed of copying and modyfing elements that I had already made. This is were things got really complicated, because I didn't make the vectors smooth since the beginning, so correcting them after finishing the compositions was terribly complicated.

CFINALDoodleLandIIV4 Custom.png

DFINALDoodleLandIIV1 Custom.png

Some detail shots

f  Copy  Copy Custom.jpg

f Custom.jpg

1 Custom.jpg

2 Custom.jpg

Then... I used the designs for items in my Redbubble Shop

Used it in spiral notebooks

work54198836spiralnotebook.jpg
Product link

Laptop Cases

work54192592laptopsleeve.jpg
Product link

Jigsaw Puzzles

work54356051jigsawpuzzle.jpg

And even leggings! :)

work54353501leggings1.jpg
work54353501leggings.jpg
Product link

Finally, made these artworks into coloring pages that can be purchased in my
Gumroad Page

Artboard 72 DoodleLand II Coloring Page by Doodledanga Phone.png
Doodle-land II V1 coloring page link

1 DoodleLand II Coloring Page by Doodledanga Phone.png
Doodle-land II V2 coloring page link

And, that's all for today.

Thank you for visiting. Hope you had fun.


If you'd like to support my work, please:

  • Make a HIVE donation to my account
  • Buy my coloring pages at Gumroad
  • Buy a product with my doodles in my Redbubble Shop
  • Spread the word by sharing the links to my work
  • Reblog / Vote

Follow me on

Facebook
Instagram
Redbubble Shop

More of my art:

My old account @doodledanga
Vosque Atómico (Atomic Forest) on Facebook (my older project where I've published many of my creations)
Also visit my Atomic Forest Society6 Shop

I also have graphics design, motion graphics & video-editing skills. You can check out that kind of work in my facebook page Rey C. or my Behance Portfolio

Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

This is all awesome, when are you going to tokenize some on NFT Showroom? :D

Thank you Julia! 😋

I'm working on an animation for nftshowroom. It takes a bunch of work to fit all this together 😅

I do have a question about tokenizing.. Can I tokenize the artwork even if I publish it in my blog, or use it on items in Redbubble? I read all of the terms but I'm still not sure.

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day