Splinterlands Art Contest Week 215! - Spirit of the Forest.

in Alien Art Hivelast year (edited)

1668446193179.png


I’ll admit, I’m not the most knowledgeable when it comes to this game. So when some of my friends suggested me to try my hand at drawing something for the contest, I was at a loss.

A quick visit to the website was enough to change that though, and I found myself skimming through a sea of cards and reading the lore that came with them. It wasn’t long until I managed to select over twenty cards as my project, each with a story better than the other, but in the end, I chose to stay close to the roots, quite literally.

So my work with the Spirit of The Forest, Began.

She was not an easy lady to draw, might I add. The second I saw her card, visions of leaves and tree branches surrounded me, but with my barely average skills as an artist, it was tough to capture her as a whole. As I’m still figuring out my art style, it was not an easy fit to decide just how to go about it, and in the end, I chose to do an almost 3d type of art, but it still turned out to be a little cartoonish.

As this is my first post in the community, I’ll try to keep it rather simple. I’m still learning the ins and outs of digital artwork, and I have way too many things to explore, but still, creating this had been fun, and I look forward to creating more characters like these, each with different styles and ideas.

So yeah, here she is, my Spirit of The Forest; mother to all.


Tools Used:

  1. Medibang Paint Pro
  2. Ipad

Process

I didn’t use any references as I already had an idea spinning in my head. The pose is pretty simple and standard when it comes to drawing half portraits ( as you can see, I drew no hands), and I first made an okay-ish lineart on paper before moving to my iPad. I tried my best to fill up the top of her head with everything I could think of, and honestly, if I do have to choose something for reference, I’ll say that it’s the card itself with tree branches hanging out from her head that got me going.

|||
|-|
|IMG_0145.PNG|IMG_0146 (1).PNG|


After the initial line was drawn, I moved towards adding colours, which was no easy fit as I was confused about how to go at it. I filled the colour and gave it a gradient hue to make it more vibrant and that’s about that. I wanted her eyes to glow in the dark so there would be an eerie powerful effect to the art, although I’m not sure how much I managed to pull that out.

|||
|-|
|IMG_0155.PNG|IMG_0156.PNG|


When all that was done, you can clearly see that I got lazy with my background, and choose a simple dark green gradient and glow to finish the job. Hopefully next time I draw something I’ll put more focus on the background to make it pop out more.

So yeah, that’s about all that I did.

I’ll leave you with a comparison of my art and the card. Have a good one folks!

1668446193179.pngSpirit of the Forest.png
Sort:  

This post has been given a 7.5% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
####
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord

Damn bro finally.. :')) Finally you are doing this.. you lazy ass :v

Yeap finally got to it. Lets see if I follow through or not :')

She looks very cute and mysterious, good job

Thank you so much. I still have a lot to learn and hopefully things will get better the more I practice. ☺️

ouff!!, look at that. I still cant believe you did this with your fingers! what else can you do with your fingers?:P

-,- -,-
I'm pretty good at tickling if you wanted to know -,-
Kharap semra!!

I am a very good person. No kharap semra to be found here huh!

The shedding looks so damn good and by looking at it no one will say you complete this piece of art within 2days.

I need to do better tho. This didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to be...

Congratulations @drivingindevon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice artwork.
Keep it up.

!1UP

Thank you! I still have much to learn but I'll keep on practicing

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@monster-curator, @oneup-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@curation-cartel(8/20) tipped @drivingindevon (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859