CAN AN OLD KNOB MAKE NEW ART?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

The bathroom door handle broke so I took it off to suss out what was wrong with it. Turns out it’s totally buggered. As a temporary repair I bolted on a couple of hose fittings. Something to pull on until we get a new one.

It looked a bit like a freaky little square face staring back at me with a big round mouth and beady little eyes.

Could this become a knob faced character study with psychedelic pretensions?, I wondered.

image.png

Looking at art posts on Hive it has been fascinating watching the step by step process of how art is created. I’ve never done any posts like that myself because I tend to just tap my finger about on my screen and see what happens.

Usually I start with a more dynamic subject than a grotty old knob, and often there are more apps involved (and sometimes a bit of Photoshop as well).

But simple is a good place to start, and I’m curious to see if I can adapt to recording what I do as I go, rather than just absent mindedly swiping away at my tablet until I end up thinking, “yeah that looks OK”

OK, lets roll with it, from knob to fine art in 10 easy steps.

GRAB MY TABLET AND TAKE A PHOTO OF MY KNOB

image.png

CARTOON PHOTO – Filter - “Watercolor”

image.png

CARTOON PHOTO – Second Filter - “Rich”

image.png

SNAPSEED – TOOLS – CROP - SQUARE

image.png

CHROMA LAB – GLITCH - “RGB Offset”

image.png

MIRROR LAB – ALCEMY – “PIXEL INTERPOLATE”

image.png

SNAPSEED – TOOLS – Drama – Drama 2

image.png

SNAPSEED – TOOLS – Frame 15 followed by Text (www.frot.co.nz – my usual signature)

image.png

SNAPSEED – TOOLS – Text – and a limited edition meme version!

image.png

SNAPSEED – STYLES – Fine Art

Just in case anyone is seeking some fine art – this is what is what it looks like with Snapseed Style Fine Art filter– not colourful enough for my tastes but it may appeal more to purists...

image.png

All this can be done on a phone as well, but I prefer to have more space to wave my finger about and so use a 10” Samsung tablet.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

LOVE It!!! I always see faces in the bathroom!!!
sink.jpgs
and nice to see your process too!!! really - this one is from the 80s and it's pastel on black canson so I have no process for ya

Me too - but that is a sign of a very disturbed mind that needs supervision...

image.png

I need SUPER-DOOPER VISION!!!


Congratulations @frot!
You raised your level and are now an Orca!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Awesome - many thanks for letting me know, I am changing my name to Moby. Moby Dick...

image.png

Haha, lol at Moby Dick 😭

BTW, now you are an Orca, it would be very appreciated if you could support our proposal so we can keep up the good work!

done, thanks for keeping things pumping

image.png

Thank you for your support @frot, really appreciated!

Very impressive -- to the artist, art is everywhere ... I thought it was a glass rose, somehow blooming out of a stained glass window

Who knew door knobs could be so dynamic?

image.png

Gotta give me an nsfw warning before being that dynamic, friend... I'm a Sunday School girl...

Right - nuns and stuff :)

image.png

Leave off the "stuff," and you'd be about right.

I have kept it light and gentle, but, I am serious on the point. I respect the fact that I am on your post, and I like your work in general. But if commenting to me, please respect my point also.

I am not exactly serious myself you know, and I thought you were taking the piss. This is a nice post about my knob, but my posts and comments are not always guaranteed safe - if you look through my 700+ previous posts who knows what you might find!

image.png

Like I said, I respect your work and your right to post whatever you want ... and I will always support what I can. I love the blue in this one.

Interesting I had not much knowledge of how this art is created before.

Neither did I! - doing the pictures is dead easy - but showing how I did one took about 10x as long and much thinking...

Don't ask me how I did this one :)

image.png

To create , digital tech is great and time saving :-) . No need to fix that one moment in time for the right snap .

3jpR3paJ37V8t3d5gG8YxUrFtTrvhgCDjjN8jFs76JyGGvQGvCvJAM9FoR7h12G6Ebyx7r2RmMaaTJezo1DiT5AqkUf2uqdhdRyZyqwLvRJKsiqnrsmKQd2vzPgvWoaeJCLxW.jpeg.jpg

with this comment you have my permission to use and alter this picture as you want , if you like to .
:-)
I made the scull , lit the fire and took the picture .

GoArt_20200714_194756_64129322104.jpeg

nice one , love it . A masterpiece :-)

 4 years ago  

Sweet I never would have known that was a doorknob, also knob > buggered, do I sense a Brit?

Hell no, I'm a Kiwi, the Poms copied that!

I might start using "bugger" - why not? It's better than dropping the "F" bomb.

I didn't realise that it wasn't std practise!

image.png

std??? standard - oh I thought for a moment - sexually transmitted disease LOL

Now that is pervy...

image.png

where do you come up with these images???? HILARIOUS

Don't you mean, 'can't a dick use gimps for their satisfaction?'lol.

Did someone say gimp?

image.png