IS IT POSSIBLE TO BE A DIGITAL EXPRESSIONIST?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

The words “digital” and “expressionist” don’t usually go hand in hand. They are a bit like “naked and “nun” or “honest” and “politician”

image.png

Expressionist art was a movement that flourished in Germany after WW1. It was partly a reaction to the horrors of the war.

image.png

image

The Nazi’s stamped it out in the 30’s branding it “degeneracy”

image.png

image

The emphasis was on colours, lines, and of course, EXPRESSIONISM. So it was the opposite of conformity, uniformity, and drab boring shit.

image.png

Right now, in our oppressive, mindless, locked down, muzzle wearing society we need more expressionism.

image.png

Much as I like the idea of swinging upside down in a harness, naked and flinging paint at a canvas, digital tools are more convenient. In fact the new digital painting and image editing tools are amazing.

image.png

Just by swinging little plastic styluses around touchscreens, we can become virtual naked paint anarchists.

image.png

Let’s overwhelm new world order grey subservient conformity with bold colours and free expression.

image.png

And yes I did write this post naked, thanks for asking!

image.png

Sort:  

Would like to invite your to the Color-community! Show off what you can do with colors!

That is great - I am now your seventh subscriber!

image.png

Thanx for joining this new community! Hope to see some colorful content soon! PS: Invite your friends too!!!

You know colours has a "u" in it don't you? 😀

Well, I'm not a native speaker, as you might have noticed... But what I learned in school is that there's two correct spellings: color for US-english and colour for the UK and the rest of the english speaking countries...

I'm not sure which one is used by the majority... What do you think? 🤔

I think globally English spelling is more common, mainly because India uses UK English and they have such a massive population.

American spelling dominates the internet, Hive, and spell checkers, but they are not really the majority - it's about 60% UK speling of English speakers globaly I vaguely remember

My Hive spell checker has disappeared today - hardfork issue probably...

First i express my skill on some paper ( 1.5cm x 5cm in this case),.... then picture it with a phone camera .

20201001_170459.jpg

Take the file to the Elitebook touchscreen and digitally fiddle it in to more expression .

tippie2.jpg

Isn't the digital part just a tool ? like canvas brushes and paint ? .... or even space to store it all ?
No need to shower after naked expressionism , fast result's and room left in the house to store food .

Nice works there , proof that you can be ,... ;-)

Cool - yes I usually start off with pen and paper too, then I scan my drawings with an HP scanner, just because I much prefer drawing with a pen on paper than on a glass screen.

And yes, mixing up a bunch of tools really helps - 100% digital often gets a bit repetitive.

This one for example, started out as a large painting

image.png

Nice one . I used to draw all digital for a while , on a wacom plate connected to a powerful desktop pc .
One layer no filters on a mega canvas ,... took hours and did not show full on internet media .
I don't mind drawing on glass or plastic , my perfect gear would be a 8K 72" touchscreen ( pen/styles ) connected to a decent enough desktop pc with a second smaller screen to show the tools and filter settings .... do they make touchscreen's that big ? ... i hope they will one day ;-)
https://hive.blog/anarchy/@small1axe/retro-car-scene-digital-drawing

Holy cow - I'm using 100gsm A4 paper :)

image.png

Expressionism , it's from before humans had written letter's and words .
A camera can take a picture , it takes an artist (human) to ad some emotion's to make it some form of communication , what ever the emotion is the watcher get's , it doesn't have to reflect the emotion the artist had put in . Freedom of expression :-)

Banana.jpeg
Sometimes i just put something in yellow paint on the "cave wall" ...;-)

THE DESIRE FOR CONVENIENCE IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL.

Are you set on that idea?

I think it can be - convenience food springs to mind, but on the other hand, it is the key motivation for so much great development - mechanics, computing, cameras, tools - so many things that we can do now where not possible before things were made convenient

For example a camera like this would have been considered great once - but now I would just take one look at it it and dismiss it as unusable - it's not digital and it wouldn't fit in my pocket, so what use is it?

image.png

As a matter of fact, I own that camera - still - to this day. And it is laziness, based on convenience, that is why I use my phone camera rather than this camera. I actually don't take pictures anymore at all really. But film can capture that purple and other colors of the sunset - where digital cannot.

I am not happy with the way things are going - convenience does not take into account the effect of the cause. The Law of Cause and Effect is obliterated by Convenience - and along this same line - the idea of convenience or the desire for convenience twists the Law of Correspondence - As within, so without - but then you distract with some convenience and it is all justified and the blame is placed elsewhere - as well - because it displaces the responsibility of the effect created by the desire "convenience" to the shoulders of those we don't see - the little brown people on the other side of the world.

In fact, convenience flies in the face of many of the Natural Laws - the Golden Rule - if it's not convenient to treat your brother the way that you want to be treated- then convenience says - "Don't bother" this is an oversimplification - but Convenience to me cuts out "care" - the heart - convenience is the action of the psychopath. Or better yet - if you want a tool of convenience, but it causes harm to a tribe in the Amazon rain forest- fuck them - they need to be brought into the 21st century - burn the rainforest for Palm oil - we need creamy peanut butter- that's definitely convenience at work.

I hear what you are saying about tools - but humanity doesn't need any more tools until we learn how to use the ones we have with CARE - the way things are rapidly going we are headed into complete orwellian tyranny as a result of a drive for convenience...and tools of distraction.

I saw this great video of this children's book!

and it says it all - these are the values that living by convenience is stripping from society.

Convenience has produced fast food which harms animals and humans - so many things are made for convenience which cause harm to other sentient beings - this is not correct - but humanity doesn't care. CARE - that's the HEART center - that thing the psychopaths don't have - the ritual of cremation of CARE at Bohemian Grove - to absolve the world leaders of their guilt over performing terrible acts - to the God Moloch -

So, yes, the love of convenience IS the root of all evil.

Wow that is bizarre that you have that camera - it was a picture I just randomly chose as an old film camera that would have been a desirable one - what year is yours?

That answer is full on, I'll have to think it over before replying. When I was a bike mechanic, pretty much every development was based upon performance or convenience -they often go hand in hand.

When I had a film camera I seldom used it - every photo was time consuming and costly. I never used a digital camera until 1999 and then took to digital photograpy like a duck to water. It was taking tens of thousands of photos that got me to the point of taking photos on auto pilot and made photography a right brain rather than left brain activity.

And that is all because of the convenince of digital cameras. I don't take photos with my phone because it's inconvenient. These are my favourite cameras, they are like extensions of my hand, and the photo quality is enough to do what i want with them. Adding more purple is easy!

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/photos/my-cameras/

image.png

PS - has your Hive spellchecker disappeared?

the hive spellchecker? I think it is still working - when I misspell a word, I get a red underline - is that what you are talking about?

yes mine has disappeared

weird. Well if it makes feel better every time i comment or post I get some red thing telling me it didn't take but then it did or didn't and I have to redo it - mercury is rx so I'm sure it will come back soon.

Yes, i actually had a 1980 Pentax K1000 - so not that exact camera but this one:
k1000.jpeg

that I bought to go to Europe with in 1980 after graduating from high school...so not exactly that camera - this one k1000.jpeg

and I also used a Nikon coolpix from 2007-2012 much as you describe... and I made these series' of artworks using photoshop channels using those digital photos - https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/spiritual-icons.html
https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/spiritual-icons.html and https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/sacred-geometry.html and I used the Pentax to take these photos that I used in these artworks: https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/intuitive-drawing.html some of these were digital photos and some were film - I used to take thousands of pictures with both cameras - and I used to have thousands of prints lying around of abstraction from Nature - https://joannawhitney.weebly.com/photography.html so I know what you mean - but since I have stopped carrying the coolpix I don't do these photos anymore - it's convenience that probably put an end to this - although after that collaboration in 2010 ended - I also got to a point of being broke and not wanting to depend on the computer for my art because of photoshop licensing because at that point I only had photoshop cs3 and I never upgraded from there and that computer now has a loose wire in the screen that no one will repair - so I realized that it was all dependent on money and so I went back to drawing at that point - but when I was shooting those pictures I would see amazing things in every aspect of life - just from framing macroshots in that camera...

I can see why you went to Gimp - I use Photoshop CS6 which is the last of the ones that can be cracked and obtained free - they went to subscription after that, but CS6 was the best one they did - yes I tried them all :)

I loved cs3 - but I just didn't like the dependence...but I can't use that mac anymore because of the screen so now I have linux and that's why I went to gimp.

Damn @frot, bravo! I just took a page out of your play book and went with less is more and shit the bed if you didn't button book me with more, more, more!

Do you mean less clothes, less words, or less shit in your bed?

Well, words but since you put it that way--"D."

Love it! We really need more of this expressionistic and colorful work on HIVE. No more of those smooth Procreate photographic paintings! More wild stuff!

What apps are you using to create these works?

Mainly Infinite Painter, Snapseed, Chroma Lab, Mirror Lab, and Cartoon Photo, all on a Samsung Android tablet

image.png

Kewl... I need to check them out ... available on iPad too, I hope!!

The world is going glabal and digitalization will soon take over.

In a nutshell, it is possible we can have "digitalexpressionism". Morelike the use of digital mediums to express oneself in relation to "expressionism" rather than traditional meduims.

Digital artists are everywhere - even out on the streets...

image.png

Hehe, that looks interesting.

Phones and physical development go hand in hand - is it possible to be a phone based personal trainer?

image.png

IS IT POSSIBLE TO BE A DIGITAL EXPRESSIONIST?

Of course. They are called dick pics

image.png

And yes I did write this post naked, thanks for asking!

Awwwww….crap.... I should have read this post naked...

Maybe next time? Here's a pic I pulled from somewhere onlne, since I know you demand them!!!
image.png

Andy was a bit odd!

image.png

Andy was a fucking asshole and part of the illuminati game.

So many are, but I guess all we can do is look at his art..

I suspect that he's one of my main inspirations

image.png

Really? I lost my taste for him in college...he was such a super asshole. It’s all about attitude-I mean,I guess if you just look at the art and don't know anything about him then the art, in and of itself, could be considered beautiful - but then you find out about him, and it's hard to still like his art - because then I can see the taunting fuck you message he is sending off - if he had had an attitude of care about the images instead of being a total vampire- he basically sucked the life out of things and then spat them back out as a poloroid.

he funded a lot of very sick people getting hooked on dope for 15 min of fame in the factory- he fed on weak people’s weaknesses- he did not uplift them - but instead he added more sickness to sickness- and surely he didn't know any better - but Andy Warhol is like the iconic human version of what Facebook is now - YUCK. He had no aspirations to uplift or grow or be better, instead he reveled in sickness and made more of it...

yes the art has a certain beauty but the multiple nature of it is what makes me cringe...I was taught in art school to see beauty in everything including common artifacts of society- like a toaster or a watering can or a fork knife spoon - even a Campbells soup can- but he took it that one step further and debaced the image- and the did the same with humans-

what did he contribute to society? It’s like Madonna-who took the last vestiges of goodness and sexed it up- laying the groundwork for all that we have now... they both took the dregs and made them into fake diamonds...I just detest Andy Warhol so much that it’s impossible for me to really enjoy his work...

Wow you are giving me a lot to think about today!

I disagree and agree at the same time which is optimal

Do you mind if I use some of this conversation for an intro to a post about Andy Warhol?

Basically I think most popular culture is manipulated to some extent by the Tavistock institute or programs like MK Ultra.

(My spell checker has just come back!)

But having said that, most of my favourite music, movies, and art, are part of that social programming. So I can't dismiss it all because the intentions behind it may have been bad, because it's my inspiration. I think the internet was set up by the CIA for evil intent but I use it every day..

Andy Warhol seems to me to have been a very original thinker with some fairly severe personality disorders.

I think he was an "Asset" (a creator manipulated and used by agencies) rather than another talentless puppet put in place by the agencies and lifted to popularity (like all modern pop stars) or a shill (like Alex Jones)

So I see his art as being original and it resonates with me - sometimes I do a picture and only afterwards realise his influence - like this one:

image.png

yes please go ahead - use it - i lived in NYC in the 80s so was directly dealing with his shit corruption of the artworld which is why I detest him but he probably was mk ultra - plus edie sedgwick - i get her plight. https://www.justinlove.com/ this guy reminds me a lot of andy warhol on a smaller scale and I detest him just as much - he corrupted art in Woodstock in the 90s when I lived there. perhaps I am just jealous of these dudes. and truly there is light and dark in everything -