THIS IS THE LOOK I'VE BEEN AIMING FOR

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

My favourite fridge magnet is a holographic skull that I’ve been trying to make into a picture. I’ve done several edits but none seemed quite right. Yesterday I think I nailed it – this is the look I was after.

image.png
“Holographic Skull 666” (2020)

This magnet has always reminded me of the time when I was a young idiot, and I went to a holographic art exhibition. Before going in I took some art appreciation substances, and then things got a little freaky.

Once inside the exhibition it became clear to me that I had stepped through some sort of portal into a parallel universe where everything was a hologram. It was pretty cool really but after a while I became very hungry and couldn't work out which hologram I needed to step into to get back to the regular world with food in it.

Eventually I found a door and went through it – and like magic it worked! I found myself standing in the street, feeling a bit lost. Buildings were making strange humming noises and passing cars left trails of sound in vivid purple colours

I had the idea I needed cheese and walked to a service station. Somehow I managed to open a fridge and select a block of cheese. Luckily I had a $10 note in my wallet and was able to buy the cheese without speaking. Hopefully I nodded or smiled or something when I bought it because I’m sure I didn’t speak.

image.png

Experiences like this may have been influential in shaping my perceptions I suspect. Remember to always eat your cheese!

image.png

Sort:  

without cheese we can't burn that bright ;-)
20200723_124826.jpg

cheese.gif

You've come a long way.

Yes, I'm totally different now...

image.png

"When you have a budget of $100 for a music video and spend $99 of it on drugs"

Pioneers

I wonder what can we do on a blockchain?

image.png

image.png

Brilliant. When I see your stuff I'm inspired to draw something. Did you do that on newspaper?

Yes, for some strange reason I drew it on a newspaper and the glued that Goodyear balloon on top, then scanned it and edited it.

I have no frigging idea why, same as usual...

Why did I draw this one on lined paper?

image.png

Thank you. It seems that the lined paper was the paper you had at the moment and it worked well. This brings up a very important point in the utilitarian values of art. We should use what is in front of us instead of searching for something we can't find.