WHAT ARE WE REALLY TRYING TO SAY WITH ART?

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

Over my years on Steemit, from time to time I tried to write stuff that I thought was profound. Fear and loathing, love and hope, life and death – that sort of shit.

It was more about saying what was in my head, rather than trying to be enlightening or anything.

But in these stressful times of information overload, I can’t be arsed blathering on, so I’m more inclined to just do pictures. I usually only have the vaguest idea (in words) what they are saying, or even if they are saying anything at all.

Here is my latest picture:

image.png

"Going Splat and Still Smiling" (pen drawing with digital editing)

Here is where I could post all the versions leading up to that final one (there are about ten), but I'll just include the original drawing and call it quits!

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

WHAT ARE WE REALLY TRYING TO SAY WITH ART?

I like these colours?

Very true - in this bizarre world of the moment, using colours has become a sort of statement in itself, a bit like not wearing a muzzle...

image.png

That makes me think of the Lego cars we used to make!

image.png

Those are the colours! 😆

the_art_collector_ink_on_paper_2016_w.jpg

Art collectors are all perverts

image.png

😀 Yes we are.

I love to see this preliminary drawings... and no idea what we are trying to say with art anymore... completely lost touch with it

I'm finding the more editing I do on my tablet the less drawing I want to be starting with - now i am looking for minimal!

image.png

You know I saw a samsung tablet at a yardsale the other day and chose NOT to buy it because i want to keep using pen and paper...

I don't use mine for drawing...too slippery...just for editing

Yes, I have a graphire tablet that is too slippery - I get it.

They say a picture can express a thousand words ... Then there are the ones that leave you speechless..... Speechless Painting by Laura Warburton

externalcontent.duckduckgo.jpg

Remember Jean-Michel Basquiat? I sometimes wonder if he was an inspiration... Yeah, nah...

image.png
image.png

Any relation to Michelle Obama ?

I don't think they were brothers :)

But they were running in the same satanic circles

Oh shit was he one as well? - I didn't know that, but this painting sold for $110 million so that could be a clue...

image.png

well he was one of Andy Warhol's boys...and then he od'd

Congratulations @frot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Thanks Hivebuzz you go off!

You're welcome @frot 👍🙂🐝🐝

Will I say stumbling, suffering, and still smiling?🤔

Truth is, everyone thinks differently depending on their state of mind and level of thoughts.

And at the end, we are trying to say what has already been said before.

I guess if we have said everything, we can say it again in a different colour :)

image.png

...and then it would give different meaning!😄

I sometimes wonder how mush colour can fit into one picture

image.png

As many as you could come up with😄...they are uneding.

Came across some graffiti dudes today spray painting (the good stuff, not the crap), ever though about a career change?

Yes - well at the moment I'd like to go around writing "COVID HOAX" all over the place, but there are cameras everywhere so I just do that online.

image.png

I was in Sheffield yesterday, there's tons of the stuff there.. some of it really good.

I can only guess what you were doing in Sheffield :)

image.png

Let me tell ya ........

sheepdrop-s.jpg

It really is that simple , .... just open your eyes ;-)

That is a thousand word essay on the meaning of life!

Out of the green in to the blue , you payed for that and they gave you this ....

WHAT ARE WE REALLY TRYING TO SAY WITH ART ? ... what ever words one can come up with to describe the art they look at.... ;-)