WHEN DOES A PICTURE BECOME MY OWN?

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I like to try doing my own versions of another artists work. The great thing about copying a picture is that it's a way of learning from the artist and taking on board some of their artistry.

image.png

One of my favourite styles of art is 60's Pop Art, and one of those artists who caught my eye is Roy Lichenstein. He was famous for his comic book style, but it's not those pictures that I'm drawn to. I really like some of his other pictures, such as this one, maybe because it looks a bit like a picture I might draw myself.

image.png
"Trompe L'oeil with Leger Head and Paintbrush" - Roy Lichtenstein - Oil - 1973

https://en.wahooart.com

So I did my own version of it, starting out with a pen drawing:

image.png

And then I coloured it in using his style of colours - this was the big learning part because I would never have used those colours, but I came to like them - and it came out like this:

image.png

Much as I like how it came out, it is still his picture rather than my own. With more tweaking it started to look more like one of my pictures, and eventually ended up like this:

image.png
"Head and Paintbrush" - Frot - Ink with digital editing - 2021

Sort:  

Are you recreating the art to censor all those nice alien lizard messages ?
The all seeing eye , the mk ultra butterfly , the golden corner a reference to the piramide cap . .... shame on you ... ;-)
the eye.PNG

Believe it or not, when I'm doing pictures my deep state radar is switched off...i didn't even see any of that...but it's all in there isn't it? Not in my clean version though!

The whole original tells me Roy also cut his finger and probably sold his soul for fame . Still if i had to choose i would put the Frot on the wall , it has nice colors and is a good reflection on a other art piece .

Wow - you are even more of a conspiracy theorist than I am! - thanks, I was starting to wonder if I'm a nut job :)

Now I'm going to have to get my vape out!

image.png

Nice work! Making your version of other artists paintings/drawings is a great way to study their style and pick up new elements for your own--here's my version of Paul Cézanne's "Bathers" from my series Modern Masters Revisited.

forrest_modern_masters_revisited_cezanne_bathers_ink_oil_pastel_12x18_2014_w.jpg

So many copies online! - what sort of pens did you use to do your one?

image.png

This was done with an ink Sharpie ultra-fine and oil pastels.

WHEN DOES A PICTURE BECOME MY OWN?

Never! They all belong to me! If you ask for permission nicely, I will allow you to publish the art that you created yourself, with a special permit for an undisclosed fee - #copyright mafia

image.png

Like many artists, Roy Lichtenstein can't draw wood grain correctly.
And what is up with letting the pinup picture get torn?

Copyright is an abomination.
Humans improve art by getting inspired by other art.
The Copyright Laws have destroyed human innovation for centuries.

All because of the shtupid idea that the artist should be the one to make money from their work.
When, in reality, its only large corporations (like the House of Mouse) who make anything off of the copyright.
(and woe unto you little person who has a corporation copy their work)

In the future, copyright will be gone.
When everyone will have a web server.

It won't be decentralized like Hive, it will be decentralized like your creation will be in a thousand / million places. Try to issue a take down order. I am looking at you Mouse.

Drawing wood grain accurately sounds like REALISM!

I'm doing my best to avoid any of that realism stuff...

image.png

Is this site working OK for you bud? It is all over the place on my PC.

I've had a few problems with pictures not loading on comments, but mostly ok.

image3A26703_mirror04.jpeg

Here's some of your competitors

externalcontent.duckduckgo.jpg

That parrot has talent!

I prefer your version for bringing the elements together. That blue has a floating in the sea feel. Like how the sea currents can pull seemingly random objects together.

Yes he had the idea first but nothing stops someone else from expressing the same idea in their own way in good faith that comes from an admiration of the 'original'.

Thanks, glad you like it!