The Weird One | Digital Art

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

TheWeirdOnes.gif

The Weird One
Digital Art
2020



When everyone thinks you're a 'weird' one just because your ways are different, then so be it.




Process


So I was in the mood to paint some candy-cute stuff without losing my dark kinda stuff into it and this is the result. I expected this to be done in one day but it took longer lol.

I think the concept here is pretty much clear and unnecessary to talk about cos it can speak by itself but I still wanna talk about it anyway and adding a personal touch to it.

The society always tells us to be a people-pleaser. Like you have to be candy-colored all the time, looking happy, cute and cuddly, and most of all pretty... And whenever they see weird ones they'll automatically outcast you... for being different.

Even though you are just being yourself they'll instantly reject it cos they want you to stay in a box. I think most of us want to be free but just don't do so out of fear of judgment.

Those who stay real with themselves, I see them with courage. I admire their confidence of not giving a fuck about anything. This applies to everyone who doesn't want to conform and/or those who take different paths.

This touches me deeply on a personal level. Before I chose the artist's path, literally everyone around me tells me to be a doctor, nurse, architect, etc. and frowns at me when I tell them I want to be an artist. There's nothing wrong with those jobs, they are a great path too. But my point here is that they think these are the only careers that matter because they are giving you a good salary. They immediately look down on artists because they think art is just a hobby and very unnecessary... and doesn't pay lol.

In general, creatives are being viewed as weird ones because we see things differently. We see things that aren't being noticed by others. But, even though those discouragements exist, we continue to have that burning desire to go straight to our goals and I'm happy for that decision.

I'm happy for those who pursue their passion without giving a fuck what other people think. For those who don't have the courage yet, may you find it soon.

But I do think you have already started though. The fact that you're reading this, you're a weird one. I mean, I've been called a weird one because I monetize my content on Hive and be on crypto in general. For sure you have experienced the same. I'm glad you're all staying here. :3 If being weird is doing what you love, then let's be weird together in our Hive.



1.jpg



2.jpg



3.jpg



still.jpg


By the way, this is minted on the Hive blockchain and will be available soon!

Watch out for the official launch <3

Sort:  

Wonderful digital drawing...i made a drawing about being alien and share it with a song and it is of course radiohead-creep...

Have a great day my friend...

Girl!!! Thank you for posting this and reminding me that It's ok to be the black sheep.

You see, the freaking society gets into you sometimes. I personally dropped out of dentistry school, one year before graduation, and since then I've had the moments where I questioned my action. But, I'm very with what I am right now, I mean I'm not perfect but, I wouldn't want any other than what I am right now.

Salamat Pauline! ;) <3

That's so nice to hear! Whatever you decide to do, the most important thing is your happiness and not other people's satisfaction.:D

Definitely!! People don't even know what they are doing either. So that would be a very stupid idea to follow the crowd.

Hey Pauline, I have a new work up, and I will be happy if you check it out.

Salamat! :)

It's also weird how women are expected to smile "more", it's almost conditioned and I didn't even realize it till few years ago. If a woman doesn't smile it's often considered like something is wrong D:

Lovely work and cool textured feel!

The combination of "cute" with a twist of "dark" is provocative... and says a lot. Living here in Asia with a half-Thai daughter, I KNOW she HATES to be called cute. Offended by it, almost LOL. I think your art probably speaks to lots of women, in particular. I remember being counselled to wear fake glsses when I was 25, cos it was hard to be taken seriously in client meetings as an attractive tall blonde. Urgh. Scary thing? I did buy fake tortoise shell glasses and wear them to meetings and it helped a lot. Thankfully as I've aged, it's much less of an issue.

Why does she hate the word? lol. Woah... that's terrible!! It sucks they really have to sexualize everything. Just because someone is attractive and blonde, doesn't mean their dumb. :( But thankfully now tho you're not dealing with it that much.

In western countries especially being blonde = being not very smart. Blonde jokes are a thing. Urgh.

always creating great hidden things I really liked your bears and the color scheme.

And as for being different, you are absolutely right that always happens to me, but simply when they make some kind of comment I ignore it, I have always liked being different from others and I will continue to be. little kisses

Thank you! It takes a lot to be able to finally ignore the comments. I'm glad you can :D

Your new style of artsy gif is lovely, I'm your fan but I guess now I'm more fan than ever!

Hahaha thank you bro! You're always there to support my art :D <3

Being a people pleaser is useless, some will always dislike you, some will adore you. If you have to make an effort to please somebody all they time by NOT being yourself, than it is not worth it. It is like wearing a cloth mask on your face all the time and pretend you are normally breathing.

I also received the "be a doctor, nurse, teacher, programmer" kind of advices. Some folks see art as useless, but I smile when the same people look for beautiful clothes or furniture or banners. Well, there is always an artist behind those.

Either way, I agree with pursuing what you like. People perform better when they wake up in the morning doing what they feel WANT to do.

I 100% agree with what you said.

but I smile when the same people look for beautiful clothes or furniture or banners.

Right??? They also say artists don't get a lot of money but at the same time complain when an artist asks for an amount and they say that is "too much". And also complain when the design is not good even if the pay was cheap. They say there's no money in art because they don't want to pay for them! lol

Ah that is just being cheap. But I think that this comes from a lack of education.People with no concern about art, history, esthetics, have no education about what art means and how much time does it take. Remember that most of the great painters died poor. And now people pay millions for their art. I am sure that you might put an expensive Picasso painting in a mall, on sale, and some people would ignorantly say it is way too abstract and expensive😂😂 I am so sure of this.

Art is not for those who want fast profits or instant fame. Art is for those who take the time to enjoy thelmselves in the creative process. The reward of the creator is in the creation itself. Which can't be compared in money. But still, money matters.

By the way, I have sent e-mail to makersplace, but no one replied and it has been days. Is it usually so slow?

Indeed, there are so many jobs we'll never ever even know exist! And new types of jobs are being invented.

Oh yes, the world of jobs always grows, evolves, changes.

Oh! I love your art!

Thank you! :D

Really weird but great.

Thank you! :D

In general, creatives are being viewed as weird ones because we see things differently. We see things that aren't being noticed by others. But, even though those discouragements exist, we continue to have that burning desire to go straight to our goals and I'm happy for that decision.

Totally agree! It's shitty to get distracted by these people, it happens to me from time to time, unfortunately. Thankfully, I always get back to my own path, and I'm glad I do.

Loving this candy-cute painting btw, it's so different to your other work, but I can still see your stile in it. Cool!