Dinner Time - Digital Art | I Tried Out A New Painting Technique Today

Lately I've been seeing some workflows from digital artists, where they start in gray scale and transition to colour.

I did some digging to learn more about the process and decided to give it a shot.

The idea behind it is that you start in gray scale and get your values right without worrying about colour. That way when when you eventually start colouring the piece, it would have proper values and you'd spend less time working on it.

Did this work for me?

Kinda. It was fun painting in gray scale and I did spend less time colouring, but I found the process tedious.

Will I be doing more gray scale?

Maybe. I'm still learning and experimenting with different styles and workflows, and I might try something else with gray scale in the future.

Tools

  • Autodesk Sketchbook

Progress


Line art



Initial gray shade



Adding values to the branch



The sky and stars



Extra vegetation



Colours


Image credits @jacksondavies


Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Did you use the overlay blend mode to add the color or just painted on top of the grayscale? I have tried this method and it takes quite a lot of practice but I have seen people get good results with it

I used the color blend mode. Overlay works fine too.

interesting the concept reminds me of me when I started painting, is this a tablet? or are you using a digitizer tablet?

Neither.

All my work is done with my fingers on a smartphone.

I was going to comment that that process is tedious then I saw you also came to that conclusion. Love the little creature who has found dinner I believe.