Frozen Dystopia

Greetings, artists from all worlds and all realities!

Tbilisi is feeling more and more like a frozen mega-structure of derelict soviet buildings, and it gave me inspiration for a new piece which took a few days to make!

The following images were made using my custom build of Disco Diffusion, photo-manipulation, photobashing and sketching through Gimp and Inkscape, and post editing/composition in darktable.

design(1)_compo1_signed.jpeg

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

Some ask me, why do you keep using Disco Diffusion?

It's slow, it's taking you days to do what others can do much faster on other AI, it's hard to get coherent result, it has its own will, things always turn out very whimsical, why don't you just change program?

Welp, few things to take into account for people with a potato computer like me.

1) I can't run Stable locally as my GPU is absolute garbage

design(1)_tl.png

2) I don't want to pay for generations, so that excludes premium versions of GoogleCollabs, MJ, etc

design(1)_tr.png

3) I want to be able to control every single parameter of my image generation, from the contrast level to the type of noise generated, and to schedule my cuts depending on the piece I have in mind. Only DD gives you that much creative control over things so far, besides locally run SD (which I already said I can't run)

design(1)_br.png

4) I actually really like the surprise-whimsical aspect of things with DD, it gives every result a random twist that I really like.

design(1)_bl.png

5) I'm too lazy to have to pick the best image out of a thousand generations. With Disco Diffusion, when it takes more than an hour for 1 quarter slice of the image to generate, you only do one. The settings have to be perfect, the prompt as well, I find it more challenging than simply click and repeat and pick the best out of all.

design(1)_compo1_signed.jpeg

Plus, let's be honest, I didn't spend all this time learning and tweaking the code of Disco Diffusion, training models that work best with it, to just jump off to other platforms simpler to use and more accessible, with less creative control.

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

That being said, I hope you enjoy this post, and that my insights are useful to you when it comes to picking up your program or changing your creative process a bit! Check more of my artworks and 3D designs on Instagram, or everything else I do everywhere else. I hope you have a wonderful day or night!

Sort:  

!discovery 35


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 last year  

Some real achievement! I am thankful that you are here and explain how you have utilized the AI as a tool rather than depended on it for your content! Cheers!