Sort:  

I can't tell you how much I love this ... his fractal-like head gives me so much joy, and his taste in music is SPLENDID!

I am happy when you are happy :) and yes, that recording with Stéphane Grappelli and Django Reinhard is still swinging now almost ninty years years after it was recorded.

Fetal, decaying, nascent, perplexed, perplexing. I like this monstrum.

I love the music. I once tried to learn that tune on my violin, and could not begin to play it at all! Not even the first measure. Diabolically uplifting! Like your drawing.

Stéphane Grappelli who plays the jazz-violin was a magician (and so was Django Reinhard). They really get it up and cooking in this one :) Violin is a hard instrument to master and this is a fast tune. My eldest daughter plays the violin too.

I tried to learn it when I was pretty good on the violin, and could not. The phrasing escaped me. Maybe if I had some sheet music, I could better understand it. It was a very strange experience to not be able to play even the first few notes. Now there is no hope of my ever learning it, but I have loved this recording for a very long time.

Yes, there are many things that will not be learned... it was so too when I was younger, but it is only now that I am really aware of it. Back then at least it might happen :) I play the piano and fell fine about letting others play. This one was played often when I was a child at my grandparents and I asked my piano teacher if I could play them, and she said... no.

Fantastic music. I don't think I have ever heard this before.

Yes, I guess it is one of the lesser known Brahms pieces. He wrote a lot so we can't all know all of it. But my uncle loved this piece and when the larger family was gathered at my grandparents it was often put on the gramophone... so to me it is associated with the long summer nights, rødgrød med fløde (fruit porridge with cream), discussions about crime novels and Dostoyevsky, role-playing games with my brother and cousins, fotball games, bathing in sea... yes... all that. And the piece itself is a not really like a Danish summer at all. Monumental, clever, virtuoso... But the way we combine things in our heads does not always make much sense.

Well, Paganini...

You have always had a propensity toward the otherworldly.

Well, the theme is Paganini, but the corpus is Brahms :)