Painting with self-made aquarelle paint.

As if I was meant to be, the day was gray, green and rainy. What set up could be better for that day to just sit inside and let the brushes wander over the paper and back in the water glass, jumping between the different colors.

I do not paint that much anymore, but from time to time I still cannot resist. Especially after I made some aquarelle paint from pigments.

I could barely hold back my excitement to try the colors out.

As I talked about in my post about the making of this paint, a few days ago, I am amazed by the intensity of certain pigments. The depth and luminosity of their colors.

Unfortunately, some loose their vibrant colors when the pigment became paint. And a few times I got a bit disappointed. Meanwhile some regain their initial tint when you wet them, and paint.

Most of the paint I made, I went randomly choosing colors that spoke to me.

Eighter getting disappointed or surprised by the result.

I was in the process of learning how to make paint in the first place.

Towards the end I started to turn my back to all the eye-catching bright colors and turned to the natural ones.

Made from stones and metals, sand and rocks, ashes and bones. You name it. It feels like anything that could be ground into a fine powder exists as a pigment.

You could have paint made from the sand of an Island you visited while traveling.

You could preserve the souvenirs in this paint of the place you grew up by creating pigments from the stones in the region.

You could take the ashes of a bonfire as a base for a pigment whose color reminds, of the conversations and the moment spent around foresaid fire.

Isn’t that beautiful?

A color would become the medium of souvenirs and memories combined with the thing you going to paint or write with it.

One of those natural pigments fascinated me in particular.

Jade.

As far as I know Jade is a very old stone used in different cultures for various purposes.

In my association of Jade, I connect it to ancient Chinese culture and have a very poetic and romantic connotation to it.

I might be wrong I am no expert in this, so if you know anything more detailed or truthful about Jade, let me know.

Anyhow weather I am right or wrong with my associations, doesn’t really matter right now, because this ain’t no history lesson. This is me being amazed by the fact I can paint with Jade an ancient stone worn and artistically processed by people all over the world for the last thousands of years.

Disappointed because it is “just” gray?

But look at all the shades the gray reveals. At the same time, it has a warm touch, and you could almost detect shades of red and yellow. Or was it rather green and turquoise?

Have a wonderful day!
I appreciate you being here and sharing my stories with me.

(all photos are mine, taken by me)

Sort:  

Ohhh well I love how the pictures came out..

Now I'm beginning to feel like I should try painting sometimes.
Even if I'm bad at it.😔

Because this are all amazing.

Thank you, well thats nice to hear!!
Definitely, try:) If you are having fun doing so thats the most important part about it! doesnt really matter if it is "good" or not then...(thats very subjective anyway)

Yeah very well I'll give it a trial some time

I learned more about paint in this post (and your previous one) than i did in many years in art classes, many of which were quite advanced. So, thank you for sharing your pigment passion and artistic process. I think the idea of making pigment out of the mementos and incorporating them into art is a fabulous idea. AWESOME POST!

What a compliment:) Thank you!!!
I did really enjoy the whole process, maybe I am gonna do some of the "memento-pigments" eventually:)

Lapis lazuli.... Lapis lazuli...

untitled.gif

Uuuh yess!! I even have some of them, waiting to be ground to powder...:))

MMmmmmm - glorious, dearest @kesityu.fashion !! I've used stone (cold) ground pigments for the majority of my art years (over 35 now), and have revelled every time an order arrived in the mail: the colours are so profoundly clear, natural and True! I couldn't use any other product, as it is so inferior... The natural colours endure so much longer also... I didn't make many of my own paints in my life, because I could find good ones via e.g. Old Holland Classic Oil Colours.

On the subject of jade: my experience is with jade eggs for vaginal healing: - de-armouring, strengthening, releasing trauma, awakening the cervix, pleasure, etc.... Jade in particular is intimately connected with the deep feminine, and the healing of the core of the female being (which has been so occulted and anaesthetised in our modern cultures).

There's a lot more to it, but of all the kinds of stone eggs or wands one can use in feminine healing, the jade is the one traditionally most appropriate - alongside rose quartz - for deep self care, relating to womb.

My sense is of opening subtle energies - similar to rose flowers - and communications within the female body; it's a subtle activator and bringer-together of parts of us that have been separated/ traumatised/ numbed.

:-) Blessings on this beautiful work that you are doing with paints!

Thats super interesting, what you know about Jade! Makes me even more into it:) kind of adds up to the positive picture I had of it anyways... Hmm now that I am thinking of it, by the look it almost reminds of moon-stone as well, Isnt that one very connected to feminine energy as well? (well I guess I am a bit of a tourist when it comes to stones, but find it super interesting anyway)
Aah yes, I had a quick look at their website, seems like they would have any shade of any colour you could wish for:)
I can Imagine the excitement when the pigments arrive by post...🙃
❤️

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - LeoFinance joins the party with 1000 more HIVE!
World Cup Contest - New Sponsor and Prizes - dCrops adds 30000 CROP and 300 NFTs
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 5500 HIVE to win