You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wounded Flowers Series – Decaying Lily Petal

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago

😂I'm not trying to rain on your parade of amber aspirations, but thought I should warn you ahead of time that you might prefer bricks. It's why I like it so much...the pressure of screwing up is a constant challenge.

I kind of wonder what fine chisels you might have. You might want to try out butternut wood, not sure if you have that there. It's much more amenable to carving when one is not practiced.

You are very talented! But we knew that :O)

Thank you. With talent though, any talent, a great deal of hard work and practice for a long time are still necessary to become really good at anything. I've been doing art since I was a child and carving seriously since 1996. This is why it's at the level it's at today.

Sort:  

I have a case of fine chisels of many shapes and odd curly points. I really did want to carve more wood but the wooden head thing really did me in as it was just random branch wood that was evil hard. It took ages. Even now it haunts me because I think it looks amateurish AF but the family love it. lol.

That is a long time carving. You are at the top of your game by the looks of it!

I'm getting the picture of your fine case of chisels. It's not a small amount either. The odd curly points sound most interesting. Tool addict here.

it was just random branch wood that was evil hard.

😂 I'm thinking maybe hawthorn....figures you'd pick the hardest brutal torture to carve. I've carved some like that purpleheart and wanted to scream like madwoman at the insanity of it.

I cannot judge (like I'm something special here, not, lol) your carving, since I have not seen it, but the fact that your family loves it tells me that it's better than you think it is.

That is a long time carving. You are at the top of your game by the looks of it!

Thanks! Time went too fast, so it doesn't feel like a long time, especially when there's so much more to learn...but never enough time as we keep touching on, lol.