You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Otto Rapp - Beyond the surreal

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago

It's beyond surrealism *3. lol.. I enjoyed watching the video. Wow! Your life story is pretty interesting. For some reason I thought you were originally from Canada and had moved to Vienna. I got it backwards!

That must have been a chore learning to speak English so well. I taught myself Spanish and lived in Mexico for a few years, but I am already forgetting how to say a lot of things since I haven't been there for so long.

Sort:  

Thanks Rick - you flatter me. Before I came to Canada, I lived in Sweden for almost 5 years. I learned Swedish so fluent that locals thought I was a Swede, albeit from some other corner of the country. But as fast as I learned it, I forgot, since once in Canada, no chance to practice. In fact, I had a hard time even with German those times I came home for visits. Only now, that I live again in Austria, but am in constant contact also with my English speaking friends, I am now fluently bi-lingual. I can still read most of Swedish, but speaking, or understanding spoken Swedish is a struggle. I might get back into it should I go there: initially it took me half a year to learn.