Discovering the Mandala of Domination

Some time ago @katharsisdrill mentioned that fractal art is like photography, because you can't really setup a fractal in the specific design you'd like, just as you can't setup, for example, a landscape & the sun for a photo.

I agree with that a lot, finding a good fractal is not about designing it as you can never have total control of what it looks like. It is more about discovering it.

Fractals are created by the colored depiction of mathemetical formulas; changing the multitude of variables in the formulas produces an infinite set of fractals, all of them theoretically existing in some space. I always feel like exploring this space, the "Fractal Realms," searching for the right angle, color palette & combination of values that will produce an interesting image.

And this is my latest discovery. It is created entirely by fractal formulas, there is no image manipulation except some color correction. When I saw it in my screen, I felt like I discovered an ancient glyph, a sigil of protection that keeps some great evil at bay. What does it feell like to you?

This image is available for purchase in high-resolution and high quality render, as a signed and limited edition digital creation in Makersplace. More info available at the link given.


image.png

Mandala of Domination

by @nyarlathotep
A fractal made in JWildFire

Sort:  

Here you go -- part 1 of this story based on your EXCELLENT art
The Case of the Missing Cathedral at Alleaume!

Mind if I borrow the "boring" fractal for part 2?

Not at all, go ahead. I'll go over both stories soon!

Discovery instead of design, just like photography ... YES, that's exactly the thing with fractal art!

I feel like there is a science fiction story coming out this from the Baroque period ... organ music older than even Bach, the great cathedrals, and a ritual at an old site that released the gargoyles and combined them with a perversion of the wheel in the middle of a wheel ... worth AT LEAST a thousand words! Excellent work!

Thank you so much! Yes, it evokes an aura of gothic & baroque and I'd love to read a story inspired from it. Back in the Old Days of Steem (~2 years ago) I used to hold a weekly "Fractal Writing Contest", where people submitted stories inspired by fractals and won prizes. There were several entries that could evolve into great stories.

Oh, I'd LOVE to be in a contest like that if you started it again ... I basically compete with myself on that anyway, almost every day of the week!

Meanwhile, let me think about this one ... it's worth AT LEAST a 1,000 words... and I've got some music for people to listen to with it... challenge of old ACCEPTED!

That would be awesome! I am looking forward to any updates from you.

Try TOMORROW or this weekend ... may I use your picture for a new Hive post, and would you like to split the rewards in the posts?

Yes, use it and do as you like with the rewards. I'm glad just to see you using it!

Beautiful!!!

Thanks, your kaleidoscopic photos are awesome too!

 4 years ago  

The color pallette of this is so pleasing <3 It definitely feels like some kind of Diety

Thanks, the pallette is certainly the main reason that makes some fractals stand out. This is the original, with a default pallette from the application, which I find extremely boring:
image.png

Pallette is EVERYTHING with fractals, indeed ... what a difference that makes...


@nyarlathotep, sorry to see you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!