Another Artist Lost on Makersplace.com

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

Ok.... I have been trying to figure out this Makersplace.com for a very long time.

I have an account over there but cannot find anyway to upload anything .... anyone else have this problem ?

My Collection is here .... https://makersplace.com/offgrid/digital-artwork/

Empty ....

A06F564A-0370-4B93-9984-ED84E0721D62.jpeg

I am an Artist. More Traditional Art than Digital though.

I am on Makerplace but cannot figure out how to upload anything .... I wonder how other artists find this place, seems so complicated. I would like to try to post some work there to see if I get any bids. I am happy to be earning $10 From posting my art work here on Hive. I earn more from the Timelapse making-of videos on YouTube and HideoutTV though where earnings are recurring.... infinite and forever.

I know that we all say that we hate traditional media sites and money and ads but some of these places actually pay artists forever and ever.... not just 7 days, not just once.... but constant passive income .... it puts food on the table.

Some of us Artists need to eat.

Any way ... that is just my two cents as a starving artist. If I can create a digital work of art / video and earn forever I am pretty happy. Keeps me creating .... am I in it just for the money ?

Well after years and years of making art for nothing... people expecting it for FREE ..... I finally decided I would look for a way to earn a little.

Anyway .... if I ever figure out how to upload stuff to Makersplace.com I will let you know.

Some recent Digital Art from my traditional pencil, ink, photography and paintings ....

2079AA6A-8A43-4C70-B048-61B40FBF633A.jpeg

8C2C1B58-CCB8-49D6-9AEF-B9877D6C067F.jpeg

00AD09EB-B34D-4AE1-BEBB-88DC6971B6DE.jpeg

And lots of Aliens .... hiding in paintings....

B39CC04E-A4C0-41EA-BD38-6D13C8C7579D.jpeg

22EFE421-AFE9-4028-90C7-5E71401FDFEE.jpeg

Sort:  

''Well after years and years of making art for nothing... people expecting it for FREE ..... I finally decided I would look for a way to earn a little''
stop doing that, it's not good for you, for your self esteem and believe me, people look you different when you start saying it's not for free..it costs that and that.
Look this way, you spent some time learning, practicing, learning, your back hurts, your hand hurts..and that cost!
While some people go and have fun, doing nothing you learned and spent hours ..that knowledge and time costs :) And with each new work and time it cost more.
Hope I don't sound rude but been there done that :)
It's hard in the beginning saying price but you will get used to it.

Yeah. So true. At least I have made a little $$ here on Hive and old Steemy. And I have millions if not hundreds of all the original Art still to sell.... ha ha ....

I hope I didn't sound like some mum telling you what to do :) But it hurts me still to hear that people expect from someone who is artist to give art for free.

Yeah, people share their work on Instagram, Facebook and everywhere else for free helping Zuckerberg make billions. While they starve ....

Here is my Twitter #posh #hive cry for #makersplace #help ....

This is so trippy! Nice work thou!

Thanks. I have millions, if not hundreds of trippy art pieces.....

I wish I had the talent to make my own art and decorate my house with it all!

You'll need to contact them for approval.

Ok.... will try that. I think I already did since I have an account ? But I’ll try again.

i was once invited here, but never had the time to check it out..... they have a discord channel though, and it seems the channel is pretty active.... you can try talking about your problems there

Thanks will try that.

Awesome work, I like your style and colors are fun. Good stuff! Sent ya a gift \ tip. I know it can be extremely frustrating making an income from your Art-Work, but don't give up. For me personally I'm a high level tech by day and an artist \ musician by night. I could of made graphic design my career but I chose to keep my aspirations huge like my clothing company https://smile.clothing, instead of joining the corporate graphic design world which probably would not make it fun anymore, that world is great for some but not for me. Your aspirations are much bigger and thats what I like to see from artists. Never give up! Check out the Art community below I started few days back and we are over 30 strong at the moment, I'm advertising like crazy and funding the whole thing myself. Why? Because I love Art, and I love helping people. As we grow we can all help each-other. Artists of all skill level. I invite you to come join us. Hope to see you there. Thanks,

Thanks ... I will join. Much appreciated.

You got it, have a great day dude. 👍

You too dude.

I never tried there. I fooled around with FineArt America and Red Bubble.

Off topic but did you ever do LBRY for your videos. If so what did you think?

That is another place I could never figure out. I could never upload....
Just like Dtube and 3speak.... so complicated.... need this , need that, video format not accepted. No wonder people stay with Youtube. It’s so bloody easy.

I tried makers place last year. Maybe I'm not the right kind of artist for that site. I didn't sell anything. Then when I got tired of having my art on that site, I couldn't delete it. I'm only able to just make no prints available for sale, but the art has to stay on the site. I don't like that. Maybe it has changed in a year, but I wasn't impressed. Also how does "original art" work on the internet?

It says in fqa at Makers place that once uploaded files can't be deleted. So, it's up to you, do you want to do like that.
As considering original art, I think it depends of a country and also how much you are alive on network. I think Insta and Fb still work as a place where people can see you and contact you directly.
But, still you have to be regular..meaning, work, post, answer, work...
Speaking from personal experience :)

No idea, not even a penny. I too have been contemplating on registering on the site but haven't figured out how it works yet. Wish I knew who could help you figure it out.
Have you tried marketplace.com?

Teepublic... 😉

If you still want to work within MP to post your work, hit me up. I have a shop there, don't use it much but have posted and sold there.

Thanks.... will go follow you there. I sent them another email with the info they need... will see how it goes.

Hello there. It is pretty easy to use once you get the hang of it. I think the problem may be that you are not registered as an artist.

Yeah.... I think that’s the problem.