What the heck ... Where am I?

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago

Hi,

May I introduce?! Cork Corkscroo! He comes from planet Bark-III. As he was flying to Risa on vacation, his navigation device suddenly exploded and so he had to make an emergency landing on an unknown planet.
At the moment of the rendering he was wondering "What the heck - Where am I?".
Is it going to turn into an adventure vacation? We will probably never know. Nobody has ever seen Cork Corkscroo again.

GAR4.jpg

How I made it

In the last few days I've finally found time to enhance my sculpting skills in Blender 2.91. I do this as often as I can. It's a nice hobby with a steep learning curve. As usual, I had a vague idea of what I want to do. This time I wanted to model an alien. What it should exactly look like in the end, I decided on the principle of "just have fun!".
I started with an UV sphere (a simple ball). After sculping the shape, I solved the texturing using classic UV textures. Normal map, Subsurface texture and Diffuse texture. The whole painting process was done in Texture Paint mode in Blender (and a little help of GIMP).

I used an HDRI texture from HDRI-Heaven for the background. (CC-0)
https://hdrihaven.com/hdri/?c=morning-afternoon&h=misty_pines

The result is rendered with Cycles and a camera with a focal length of 25 mm.

Obviously I still have to practice creating realistic topologies a little. But I am ambitious. ^^

A few screenshots of the development environment.

image.png

image.png

image.png

If you are interested in the Blender file and the textures, please let me know via a comment or PeakD chat. I am happy to share my model with you.

Best regards
QuantumG

Sort:  

That alien is rather nice looking. Doesn't scare me at all:)

Amazing skill!

I hope you will believe me when I tell you that I was originally working on a more grimmly contemporary. But again and again, all my efforts led to this harmless guy. :-D

Thank you, dear friend!

🌞 🌟

Blender does have quite a steep learning curve! You did an incredible job! I really like the browline. Keep up the great work and thanks for sharing in the community.

Thank you very much.
Yes, the learning curve is steep. But also thanks to countless projects that are not worthy of ever being allowed to see the light of day. xD

I need to revisit Blender and see if the curve has gotten better for me! I am glad to see it's helped fuel your projects! Looking forward to seeing more!