my nft showroom 10k competition entry: the seeker

Pixel art has always been one of my favorite kinds of visual art. I enjoy looking at it, I enjoy making it, I relate to it.

There is something about the level of fidelity of a pixel artwork, even just a small 128x128 resolution blown up to a larger size, that appeals to me.

It has been a joy for me to watch the world of pixel art grow into as legitimate an artform as anything else. I see "pixel style" artworks of such detail and depth that they challenge any other form of art. Pixellation is a genre now, not a compromise.

The Seeker

First, a hat tip: I named this piece before Julia released her Seeker of Secrets recently, so shout outs to her and that piece. No faux pas is intended with my similar title here, it's just a coincidence :-P

This piece is my submission for the NFT Showroom 10k contest.

7b.gif

It includes a music component as well which doesn't translate so well via embeds into blog posts. If you want to experience the full multimedia NFT, you can find it here.

I really enjoy how the colors came out for this piece. As one of my first experiments in "gif art" animations, drawing inspiration from the big dogs of the crypto art world, especially XCOPY, I was excited to explore how abstract art ideas could work in motion.

The combination of free-spirited abstract art styles with recognizable objects/creatures is something I find very compelling. I look forward to exploring that style more in future works.

NFT Showroom 10k Competition

The NFT Showroom 10k Comp is still open for artist submissions until October 21th. There's an additional week after that before the collector deadline.

In brief, every artist is welcomed to submit one artwork for inclusion in the contest. A panel of judges will vote to determine the three winners. For collectors, every NFT from the contest that is collected counts for 1 point in a raffle for more prizes.

It's a pretty good deal considering me and most of my friends are already enjoying the process of making and collecting art. Why not get a chance at a few prizes? With HIVE's price these days, a 1000 HIVE prize pool is looking pretty good.

You can find the competition details over here.

Shout Outs

One last thing I want to mention in this post is a huge shoutout to my friend @mustachepod who recently minted his first two NFTs on the showroom, and has already sold three mints! Really amazing to watch my friends jump in and start to make some extra money from their creative output. Check out mustache's work over here at his NFT Showroom profile.

It's only been a few months and I already can't imagine life without NFT Showroom. GL to everybody in the competition.

Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout B) So hype about NFTSR. Working on my 10k piece this morning :)

Pixel art is definitely in a field of it's own. I enjoyed reading your comments about it and the passion that comes through. I think you have to be pretty meticulous and creative to find solutions in the realm of Pixel art. Great job and thanks for sharing with us. Good luck on the contest!