You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pursuit of Beauty

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

This is an excellent post AG and I hope someone thinking of small toe removal, breast implants or liposuction will read it and reconsider.

It’s really harmful what females have had done to them, such as foot binding, or willingly choose such surgeries all under the banner of beauty.

I wonder what was the purpose of foot binding. Was a tiny foot a sign of beauty? I’ve seen documents where women have put coils on their neck to stretcH them and eventually without the coils they couldn’t hold their head upright.

I never knew the removal of the little toe was done to fit the foot into stilettos.

I have a friend who had liposuction and eventually where they took the fat that area of her body sunk in and another surgery was necessary to tighten the skin there.

When she mentioned doing the procedure I said, “You are in good health now, don’t do something like this” But she went ahead with it.

Vanity is a terrible thing and we are bombarded with images of beautiful people that younger people want to look like. They don’t realize the health risks involved.

I think I’ve went on enough and never got to an opinion about the corset.😆

Sort:  

I love it!! Every word you wrote is great.

I’ve seen documents where women have put coils on their neck to stretch them and eventually without the coils they couldn’t hold their head upright.

I never heard of this. The foot binding was largely a class thing. Poorer, lower class women were not expected to meet this ideal of beauty. It was the privileged (!!!) who were given the gift of having their bones broken.

No more crazy than having your pinky toe amputated or botulinum injected into your body.

Thanks for the reblog and kind words. It's very gratifying.

AG, It is the women of the Thai Kayan tribe in Thailand that stretch their necks. They are often called "Giraffe Women” who follow this old tradition.
75656D1E761343F6BB5C3D5F30D1BA9B.png

source

Thank you! I started reading about this last night.