"My Style is No-Style" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

How many people remember the T.V. show, Square Pegs? It was AWFUL, in absolutely the best way. (I have a DVD boxset of the entire series, but I'm the only person in my family who enjoys the program...just like with Land of the Lost, Lancelot Link - Secret Chimp, and Welcome Back, Kotter... I love bad, old comedies....)

What does any of this have to do with anything??? Not much. I cribbed a line from Square Pegs for my title, but NOBODY was going to get the reference, and that made me sad, so I thought I'd share the old, bad T.V. comedy love. That is all....

Speaking of bad stuff, here's some bad art!!!


[Brush pen and liner pen on postcard...]

This is one of the many silly drawings that I scribbled onto the batch of postcards and postal art I prepared for tomorrow's mail pick-up! While I was doodling, Mariah ( "The Boss of Me" aka: @mariahyates ) went crazy-ape-bonkers with the GLITTER! (Aka: craft herpes!!!) It's everywhere. She got SOME on the postcards she was making and a TON everywhere else, too.... Lovely... (Ha!)

We also put up some Xmas decor today, including our stockings!

Each Xmas sock has the first letter of one of our or our kids's names (duh!), but we discovered that, when put together in just the right order, they conjure a mysterious holiday entity, Mr. B. Merry Fafeg!!! He is mysterious...so mysterious that he's a complete MYSTERY! Probably supernatural... We just don't know....

Switching gears, again, here's ANOTHER bit of ODD ART!



I don't know what it means!!! (Yes I made it, but the words talk THRU me...not TO me. I try to stay out of the way....)

Speaking of words....let's drop a Low-ku before signing off!!!

West bound odd tourist
Seeking thrills in strange places
Lost in the wet woods

I wonder if the fool was eaten or TAKEN??? We'll probably never know... Didn't even find a body.... (This is all fiction, of course. Don't worry. Every REAL person is totally safe...)

Okay, g'night! Try to make something tomorrow! A stupid sketch, a bad poem, a silly song, whatever. Doesn't matter WHAT you make....we just can't let The NOTHING win!!!

---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

...crazy-ape-bonkers with the GLITTER!

I think @mariahyates will concur that there's no such thing as "too much glitter" 😊

How many stockings are pictured, above? Why, there are eight, of course! 😁