Why I Just Bought @juliakponsford’s Cryptoart for 500 HIVE on NFT Showroom

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

juliaart.jpeg

If you haven’t heard yet, Hive has a newly-created NFT art marketplace called NFT Showroom which is in its alpha stage.

I’ve been involved in helping to find bugs and give feedback on the UX and other design aspects of the site. NFT Showroom is live and you can see for yourself: https://nftshowroom.com/

Keep in mind, things are still being improved. For example, if you’re a font snob like me, you’ll be agonizing over the fact that the fonts are mismatched on the site....moving right along however, the reason I’m writing this article is to analyze why I am excited about purchasing cryptoart from NFT Showroom. I’ll write a separate post about being an artist creating NFT’s on the site.

Let me start by analyzing my recent purchase of Julia's cryptoart from NFT Showroom.

Last night, I impulsively bought this amazing piece of cryptoart, titled Octo-Pieuvre of the Deep Sea from @juliakponsford, who is a very talented cryptoartist and musician, and who is also part of the team running NFT Showroom. She is an accomplished artist on popular ETH art marketplaces like Super Rare, Makersplace, Async Art, Known Origin and maybe others. Her art is selling really well on those platforms, and that is partly why i decided to snatch up this work for 500 HIVE:

DQmTpy59UTyF7648dVqnDQ1dRVHJBsvNK1DX2VzG5Cu4HzzOcto_pieuvre.jpg

Octo-Pieuvre of the Deep Sea by @juliakponsford Purchased by me on NFT Showroom.

Actually I had been eyeing this work from the very first time I saw it. I think it is one of her best pieces she’s ever made. There was another piece of art I saw of hers on Super Rare, and I’m kicking myself that I didn’t buy it when I had the chance.
Here’s the other piece of art of hers on Super Rare that I didn’t buy, but now is in the MOCA collection:

cliffanx.jpeg

You might wonder why I would buy this piece of art for 500 Hive. Here are some of the reasons I decided to buy it:

1. Ownership.

Since I own it, I can use it in blog posts and in my headers if I choose to do so. Having paid for it means that I don’t have to share the rewards of this post with the artist, since she already has been paid for her art.

2. Investment.

From my experience on Super Rare, I learned that art collecting can be a lucrative thing. For example, I bought one of @yusaymon cryptoart pieces for $25 then I resold it for $235. https://www.superrare.co/yusaymonj

It’s early days on NFT Showroom, but that doesn’t mean it will stay that way. If I had followed my gut more, and bought art that I truly love on Super Rare by Julia and others, I could have easily made thousands of dollars in profit. A lot has changed in 3 months, and I think this trend is just going to get bigger. I took a gamble on buying this piece of cryptoart, but I think the art is worth more than I paid for it. Julia is already successful on other cryptoart platforms, so this investment feels like a smart one to me.

I like to invest in things that have great value to me personally. For example, I would not buy any art that I did not personally like. I don’t view art collecting and selling in a cold way.

3. Aesthetics.

As an artist myself, I am incredibly picky. There are not many pieces art that I feel impressed by, but when I find something I love, I have to go for it. I like to be associated with high quality art and artists, and just seeing my avatar next to the piece of art that I love has brought me a lot of good vibes.

4. Supporting artists whose work I like.

There is nothing like the feeling of supporting artists whose art I love. Having that connection is like no other feeling I know. This is very different from buying a physical piece of art, because the connection online is not visible. Having Julia’s piece of cryptoart right next to my name on NFT Showroom, in the “collection” area means a lot to me. It’s the feeling of the showing the world my unique taste in art. It feels very personal!

5. FOMO

Last night, the real reason I pulled the trigger was FOMO. I realized I was in a unique position in that I was aware of NFT Showroom before most collectors even know it exists. I didn’t want to lose out on purchasing Julia’s art again, like I did on Super Rare.

6. No gas fees.

The whole buying process on NFT Showroom was super fast and there was no waiting, and no gas fees. This made the experience super smooth. I was surprised just how fast it all happened. And I hate the fact that I have to figure out the GWEI stuff on ETH platforms. There is nothing to figure out when buying cryptoart on NFT Showroom. I just pressed a few buttons and it was done.

That covers my experience buying cryptoart on NFT Showroom. I’m also an artist on NFT Showroom and you can see my art for sale here: https://nftshowroom.com/stellabelle/on-market

If you're an artist wanting to join NFT Showroom, join the discord and introduce yourself. https://discord.gg/4yVNfv7
Tell the admins there that you want to be whitelisted, and also give your social media links.

Thanks to Julia who made this amazing piece of art!

Cheers,
Stellabelle

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

You had FOMA, fear of missing art lol, thanks so much for grabbing this I'm happy you have it ❤️

LOL FOMA, yes, and plus i DON'T WANT MOCA to collect all your art!

Thanks @stellabelle for sharing this. You've always been an inspiration to artists. I'm glad I know you.😍

Let's see how we can make this successful. I know you're doing a lot of art these days, so ask to be whitelisted in the discord.

Yes...I got whitelisted yesterday. I'm in for it. Thanks @stellabelle

First comment? Hah dude MOCA gallery?? Wtf this is serious

So nftshowroom uses hive , or its a hive project right?

Hey but tell @juliakponsford she MUST follow my dms and post at least one piece here https://wax.atomichub.io that is an order, ensign!

We need you both to also work with @avral over on https://alcor.exchange/nft-market I have a mememycoin starter nft on there for a few telos ... lets get some serious art points

Lets get @grimes who 8s on newlife, to come to HYPERrare our NEW eosio hive hybrid nft gallery coming to alcor ... i asked alcoe about an eosio art gallery for telos and eos since wax nfts are all for games and collectibles

But females have more color cone receptors so your doing less games more art and i see a split.... and the art world is gonna love seeing u guys with ur own galleries filled with crypto artists

What artist wouldn't love the idea of a burgeoning world of human animals all inside an ocean of money clawing at each other to get to the top all producing the best art ... like an army of crypto banksies

We need you to be in a gallery @stellabelle

NFT Showroom uses Hive Engine! and yes it's a HIVE project!

OOPS

LOL. this is just the kind of response i expected from you: ALL OVER THE FUCKING MAP!!!!!!!!!
My art that i tokenized on NFT Showroom is so random, and it was before I started the RICH EVIL SERIES....
i am working hard on the Epstein series.....still don't know where i will put it, haven't committed.......
here's a sneak peek of one i did last night:
EpstienMONSTERsmall.jpg

That's not art. That's a meme.
That's what became of digital art.
Not saying it's bad. Heck, high society love dark and morbid so..
Point of though, exclusivity or special labels don't mean much when everyone is able to create "art".
True works of a master's "stroke" will always have an elite status but so many are a little ambitions believing themselves to be banksies. Which, is a joke in the field of actual art.
He's a political activist.
The recent performance of defacing a train whole his countrymen are lockdown solidified that.

I think this is a new beginning of crypto era and much better platform among of.

🤔🤔🤔 very interesting, I didn't know of NFTshowroom
do you know how can I sign in as an artist?

yes, go to their discord channel and request to be whitelisted.

It really is a great piece! (Glowing green with envy...)

yes, but you bought the very first NFT of mine that I've sold!!!!
I'll do a separate post about this!

i'm not selling it.......lololololololo

Congrats to You!
👍🏼😁👍🏼
Looks like something I should
look into!
Have An Awesome Eve.!

yeah, definitely do!

Thank You I will!
I bookmarked the post,
So I know where to go, etc...
Thanks Again &
Have A Great Rest of The Week!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

Is this all digital art, or do you get a matching physical piece too?

it's all digital art from me, but some artists paint in physical art and make arrangements. I'm considering doing something like mailing something to my customers, but haven't decided anything yet.

Ah, what a lovely piece of art now I'm going to buy it off of you for 1,000 Hive 😝

This showroom is just amazing I'm loving it all!

You and @juliakponsford are why I went on and took the plunge and applied for NFT Showroom ... and why I may soon have my first art sale under the belt! Neither of you realize how much encouragement you are to artists on Hive ... so I'm telling you!

Digital art for arts sake is something I know nothing about, so I'll be steering clear of buying any expensive pre-drawn pieces.

However, I could maybe see myself buying some cheaper bits and bobs for my other blog if anything fits in with specific topics.

The showroom is a great development for Hive, and tokenised digital art seems like a real boon for artists.

However my concern, as with for many things online.... AI.... the coders are no-doubt already all over this - making machines that write programmes that churn out 'bespoke' art.

I imagine digital art is probably easier for AI to crack than writing/ language, given the more flexible rules in the former?

We both know it's coming, then won't the market just get flooded with computer generated stuff?

That's why it's destined to flop if it's just a tokenized static art gallery.
Seriously. Don't tell Stella though.
Digital art essentially comes to a head in meme culture. The exclusivity of ART as "by an artist" died long ago when computers game ability to anyone to create it. Not just the hipsters that got rolled into doing an arts course.

What you've suggested however.
Has a market. It's something I believe will eventually be very lucrative.

That is: collaboration between creators. A platform in crypto like a fiver where people place orders to assist their content. The possibilities of monetized services in crypto will definitely be a thing.
That system is already very profitable in other areas. Such as skin designs for gaming. Hand crafted jewelry/fashion to name a couple.

This NFT thing is ridiculously narrow. Early stage yes, but they don't even offer services. That art.. What do you get? Just a file?
There's services that can print in any media so just adding that as an extra option is what it should already be. Because ART is about physical presence. What on earth is the point of collecting art that sits in a folder on a hard drive or cloud storage.

whats the point in collecting art in a folder

Fair point, I can't see any point, but as you say if there's a use case for the digital art, it makes much more sense. Hell I've paid someone on here a few hundred Hive to make me advertising GIFs for example, so I know there's a market.

She didn't reply, I think she knows we're right!

This is a very seductive post. So much benefits of adopting this as a mode of investment.. although there are still one or two gray areas that i don't understand...

Loading...

Hmm. I think you changed my mind a bit about these. I had a problem understanding where the value in digital goods like this was. Its not like Splinterlands cards that have value because "they do stuff".

I guess, yeah, you own this. Its not just photo you took online. You can print it out and hang on the wall and youd know its yours.
I think i get it.

Im curious though, you think this could work for music? Music would be a tougher cookie to crack i feel.

It's already working for music.
the real value lies in the fact that I can prove Julia is the original artist, and the provenance (the data of who made it, when, who was the first buyer, etc).
Art speculation and selling art relies on this one thing: provenance.
A fake painting that looks exactly like the Mona Lisa has zero value. That's because the value comes from the artist, and knowing what work came from the artist.
With this data intact, the art becomes more valuable, and also, Julia's work on Super Rare is being collected and the list prices for her work are way higher than what i paid for this one. She's an established crypto artist. But I think this is her best work...

That piece is definitely supreme.
The issue I see though is that you get the finished piece, but do you get all the resources? Like the PSD file and a contractual agreement that you own full rights?
Because a physical art piece IS EVERYTHING (and all great art has certification and even an administrative body of authority that can verify authenticity).
The physical art was also the resources and also what represents time invested by the artist.
So as you've pointed out.
A reproduction has no ability to stand as equal.
Digital art doesn't have that unique individuality if you're only relying on trust. Sure trust works when people respect it. But say you and artist have a falling out. What stops that artist from deciding you don't deserve to be sole owner anymore? The artwork should utilize a smart contract at the very least.

There is a smart contract, it's on Hive-engine.
The artist has to choose which license to attach to his/her art: Private or Full Commercial.
Some artists send their owners the physical art too, but that is up to the individal artists to decide.
For me, I just create digital work, now, but I am considering sending something to the people who buy my art.
If i have a falling out with the artist, it would be illegal for them to mint this piece of art somewhere else. Their reputation would suffer, which would affect their future sales.

ILLEGAL is a definitive word.
The licensing you refer to, is it Ceative Commons?
I know of it but also know it has some issues and even creating a split between proponents of it.
REPUTATION in this age I believe is overhyped. SURE an artist that plays the community game will see it as "law" but if crypto gains a much larger audience and people add 'digital assets' but don't play the community game, they would not care much for 'bad rep'. There would be many artists simply using pseudo identities to circumvent that danger. If many play it for money gain only. It's not hard to simply exist as a new identity if the last one had issues.

There's no obligation in these platforms to reveal real world identity or to be attached to only one identity.
So for LEGALITY to be applied, in a world (online) where anyone is an artist and style uniqueness not really a thing anymore.
The possibility for all these issues arising are high. It's actually.. inevitable.

That's my point.
It's not well thought through.
Like many things here.
Critical thinking doesn't seem to be priority.

I'm not against it but I'm sharing my thoughts with you because I think you need to realize the system needs improvement.
I wrote on another comment that there's possibility to use NFT for a lot more that doesn't need licensing and a need for heavy regulation. An on demand creative collaboration platform that could even reach outside of crypto as a service.

The NFTshowroomt is archaic if focused heavily on static imagery. Then when money is involved and "rights" believed to exist, it's a shaky road.

Just like the ambition of a few here to sue big tech over "loss of revenue". It's again not thought through. Crypto is unregulated and they're asking recognition in legal systems. To even proceed the case as recognized valid under law is going to be a major task. ALL projects that make that transition and/or claim need to understand that first. Regulation is what makes all those things like licensing and ownership rights valid in the physical world. Crypto is really a game of gambling in its current form.

https://emanate.live/home
i have not looked into this but i hear people are using it

Yeah i saw that, i was thinking more, pure NFT. I guess youdd have to sign off royalties in that case.