Commons Landscape: Big Tree Park

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

BigTreeParkFull.png

Hey this is @rootdraws -- I've created a SFW account for daily landscape studies.

I'm using the landscapes in my own projects, but I'd like to share them with others as well, so everything that I create with this account is going to be CCBY4.0 [Creative Commons].

I assume that as time goes on, my skills will improve, and the assets I'm creating will become more valuable. For the moment, I'm just going to keep sharing / posting / integrating into whatever project I have going on at the moment.

Here's the photo source for where this tree came from:

IMG_2665.JPG

It's kind of a unique tree, that has existed in that spot ever since I was a kid. It's an anomaly, and I haven't seen any other tree that old. I'm not sure why it exists, or why there aren't an entire grove of them. Apparently it's an Australian Fig // Banyan.

https://www.cityofglendora.org/departments-services/parks-recreation-senior-services/field-facilities-rentals/big-tree-park

.:.

Another interesting thing about this @stellah account, is that I've created an associated Patreon within the USD economy to provide people with digital files associated with environment studies, so they can use them for Art Assets.

The art assets will also be able to be bundled and distributed. I'm not certain exactly what criteria I will have for that, but I'm aware that there are groups of people who create different sorts of media that could use Environment Paintings.

  • Visual Novel Creators
  • Game Design
  • Storyboarders
  • I will also be using them for my Graphic Novels -- In Fact, that will be their primary application.

Patreon / Gumroad / Kickstarter / Itch.io -- Might be good ways to monetize those files within USD. I'm not certain which will be the best -- but since this isn't my primary business, it's more of a derivative system meant to provide certain benefits to myself and others, I'm just going to find a good way to distribute these items, and stick with that.

  • Patreon [Daily / Regular Updates]
  • Kickstarter [Campaign Collections] -- [Use this time for broader outreach.]
  • Gumroad [Where Collections go to be digitally downloaded after the Kickstarter Campaign]

Is probably how I'll structure it.

.:.

I will be creating stickers for the USD Folks through Patreon, but I won't ever touch those. Fulfillment will be automated. -- So for example, I will be able to send my daughter a fancy sticker through Patreon once every quarter, just by uploading the best image for that quarter, and then submitting the merch through this screen on Patreon.

Screen Shot 20200730 at 5.36.47 PM.png

What happens then, is I am my own patron -- in a sense, that @rootdraws is being a patron of @stellah - except that I've used her address for automated reward fulfillment. So, my rewards will be automatically delivered to her -- basically whatever is the best landscape for that period of time, will end up in her mailbox.

Screen Shot 20200730 at 4.25.01 PM.png

The way that will work is that the sticker will cost $5.60, and will be delivered every 3 months, and I need to buy in $12 a month. Patreon will take a cut of about 11% I think. So, I'm basically paying $10 every 3 months to automate sending my daughter some fancy sticker. Including Fees and Cost for Sticker Fulfillment. -- The rest will go to the artist.

Neat system.

Would be nicer if there was a more regular service, but I couldn't find one that was automated with greater frequency.

.:.

I will also be using either ETH or NFTShowroom to mint 1/1 collectables. I will feel free to experiment with either, but if I mint on HIVE, I will not be minting on ETH - and visa versa.

I sent an email to ASYNC, to ask about working with them, since it's a layered based system, and these environment paintings might go well as a layered component. Though the ETH gas fees are wild at the moment cause of the bull run.

To make things a bit more interesting I will also include a limited edition print option with each NFT. So, people can simply collect the NFT, or they can opt to send me an email via:

[email protected]

When they make their purchase, and give me a PO Box or other mailing address through that email address, and I will send them a nice thick, personalized postcard print. I just have to figure out how to get Kinkos to print small batches -- 2/2 for that edition, so my daughter can have one as well.

This ought to be simple enough to do.

I've automated forwarding on that email account so I won't miss anything.

.:.

The only promotion I'm planning on doing regularly with this project is as follows:

We'll see how suave I get -- if I record myself speedpaint style and then create a little 1 min video, I may be able to use that to help promote.

Again, the objective here is not really to become a landscape painter -- It's more to just set up a derivative monetization strategy while expanding the quality of the environment paintings in my graphic novels.

.:.

Here's the HIVE NFT for this painting:

Big Tree Heart in NFTShowroom [1/1]

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

My initial reaction to this post was that I thought someone stole your art 😂

Yea - it's me.

I'm not sure if it's the best thing to do it this way, but I think it's an experiment I'm trying.

Congratulations @stellah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs