thermoplastic cross-posted this post in Alien Art Hive 3 years ago


MASKS - a preliminary sketch

in OnChainArt3 years ago

“The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can't be any large-scale revolution until there's a personal revolution, on an individual level. It's got to happen inside first.”
Jim MORRISON

These days, masks are a requirement just about everywhere in just about every situation. But forget about Covid-2019. I am talking about traditional masks.
Digging into my stacks, finding stuff I forgot about. This is one example which I published on DeviantArt in 2008 under "Scraps". The images were inspired by my exposure to Pacific Northwest Native Art.

masks_by_artofthemystic_d1p83aw.jpg
Note on DeviantArt:
... more sketching, but I won't use it on the Peckerwood Project. Maybe the germ for something else .......

a quick sketch which was never used in any drawing or painting.
unsigned, not dated, but likely done in 2008 - unknown size, but by the crease marks it may have been a larger sheet, folded - it is one of two scraps in preparation for the drawing "General Peckerwood in Purgatory", but not used in that drawing. No idea where it is, or when I scanned it. Below is the sketch for Peckerwood, probably done around the same time.

general_peckerwood_by_artofthemystic_d1p821n preliminary sketchweb1000.jpg
Sketch for General Peckerwood
GENERAL PECKERWOOD IN PURGATORY.jpg
General Peckerwood in Purgatory


Here is a exchange of comments between artist Bernard Dumaine and myself on DeviantArt:

Bernardumaine
Nov 6, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist
Nice, I like the nervous style

ArtOfTheMystic
Nov 11, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist

nervous style? It's old age, my friend. Of course Prof. Anderson of yore at the Vienna Academy championed the "Zitterstrich", but once upon a time I actually had a steady hand, lol ...... I had to grasp the pencil at the very end and listen to rock-and-roll with a full bladder in order to comply with the required 'looseness' demanded by my teacher who followed Nicolaides very closely .....

Bernardumaine
Nov 11, 2008|Professional Traditional Artist
However, it's a nice sketch


I hope this gives you a little bit of an insight into my way of working, since I have few "progress" shots I can share. No so called "tutorials", because when I am busy creating, I create, I don't think of showing off.



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

POPEYE CRADLE.gif


If you find this useful, please repost!

MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

Sort:  

Congratulations @thermoplastic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 550 posts. Your next target is to reach 600 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project
October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month