🎨 SCARED TO GO TO THE BATHROOM ALL BY HIMSELF

P1140809web2000.jpg

SCARED TO GO TO THE BATHROOM ALL BY HIMSELF
small graphite drawing on passepartout carton - 2020

Back in January, when I was cleaning in my studio, I found a little doodle. It was basically a practice piece for some of the tricks I do with graphite. Never one to waste anything, I finished it. It probably took me longer to come up with a title.
Just by chance, I came across this in a parenting column (don't ask, I have no idea how and why) -
5 year old is afraid to go to the bathroom alone
But the drawing does not look like a 5 year old - it looks more like the type of monster that a 5 year old would be scared of, but in my drawing, I think it is the monster that is scared of a 5 year old!

This could be the start of a story .... and maybe I might write one some day, because it sort of brings back memories of my early childhood.


Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
Pixels Shop Banner Ad.JPG




If you find this useful, please repost!

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

It probably took me longer to come up with a title.

Why are titles so hard!!! 😂

because most of the time I have no idea what I just did. Some artists make it easy for themselves and call their stuff something like "Composition Nr. 1". But I want something that is unusual, just as the work. Since I am basically a surrealist at heart, my titles should reflect that. I take my clue from Yves Tanguy, who called a sort of landscape painting "Mama, Papa is wounded!"
image.png